We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The oldest restaurant in Germany?”

Zur Letzten Instanz
Ranked #584 of 9,369 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Description: Napoleon is believed to have once dined at this restaurant, which opened in 1621. In 1621, a retired knight’s servant of the elector of that time opened a little distillery, and by this he laid the foundations for “Letzte Instanz”. Thanks to the “Graues Kloster” (Grey Monastery), in Waisenstraße, belonging to Nikolaikirche, the distillery was getting more and more popular even beyond the borderlines of the city. The monastery, working place of doctors, alchemists, and astrologists, and which also had a printing work and a foundry of letters, enhanced the popularity of Waisenstraße and attracted a large number of guests coming to our restaurant.
Reviewed September 22, 2017

They claimed to be the 4th oldest restaurant in the world! Maybe. The food was good, the beer was great but the ambience (?) was exceptional. The staff always had a smile.
No wiener schnitzel (that's Austrian) but pig's knuckles are available. This restaurant is a must for a good time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank williamhait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Zur Letzten Instanz, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Lieber williamhait, we definetely are the eldest mentioned restaurant in Berlin (dated 1621). Great that you enjoyed the ambience, our service staff and dishes. That´s how it should be. Thanks again for visiting, recommending and rating us. Your very welcome any time! Your Instanz team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 132 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2017

I believe one of the best restaurant I have ever tried and not only in Berlin. Beautiful location (ancient and charming place), excellent food and beers and very polite and informal service. I suggest to book in advance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GMS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Zur Letzten Instanz, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017
Google Translation

Dear GMS72, we like to hear such a great praise. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. See you, your Instanz team

Lieber GMS72, ein solch nettes Lob hören wir gerne. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass es Dir bei uns gefallen hat. Bis bald, Dein Instanz Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

ive been visiting with friend with prior reservation. Place is very nice, has a authentic German interior, food is great, service is good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arshak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Zur Letzten Instanz, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017
Google Translation

Dear Arshak, great, your recommendation is to the point. Thanks for recommending us! Your Instanz team

Lieber Archak, klasse, Deine Empfehlung ist auf den Punkt gebracht. Dank, dass Du uns empfiehlst! Dein Instanz Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

Good staff, good food, having good time!
Especially the lamb dish was very tasty.
Everyone who visited the restaurant had a good time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michio Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Zur Letzten Instanz, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Dear Michio, we like to hear such a great praise. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. See you, your Instanz team

Lieber Michio, ein solch nettes Lob hören wir gerne. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass es Dir bei uns gefallen hat. Bis bald, Dein Instanz Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

The best grilled knuckle of pork in Berlin, fast served. The beer is good and the desert apple pie home made is also amazing.

1  Thank Aurel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Zur Letzten Instanz, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Dear Aurel, great, your recommendation is to the point. Thanks for recommending us! Your Instanz team

Lieber Aurel, klasse, Deine Empfehlung ist auf den Punkt gebracht. Dank, dass Du uns empfiehlst! Dein Instanz Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zur Letzten Instanz also viewed

 

Been to Zur Letzten Instanz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing