We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice and simple”
Review of Zillemarkt

Zillemarkt
Ranked #1,153 of 8,508 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Description: Since the turn of the century exists a restaurant in Charlottenburg which is well-known as a synonym for comfortableness and quality. Nostalgia and the modern age are combined successfully here. Zille's inheritance is ever-present in our traditional restaurant. The glass fassade which has originally been preserved, the cobbled surface of the floor and the old pharmacist sideboard that has been changed to a bar, show more than 100 years of the restaurant's history. You can stay relaxed in this authentic nostalgic atmosphere, enjoy the best meals ever and let us spoil you the best way. The Zillemarkt belongs to Berlin as the Brandenburger Tor and the Spree!
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really nice and simple”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

It is actually difficult to find good Berliner food in Berlin. This place won't disappoint you with their own brewed beer and good old fashioned meat and vegetables. And not expensive either with two beers, a huge stuffed cabbage roll and roast pork plate with fried potatoes and spinach coming to only €26. Go and eat there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaddy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    153
    55
    21
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like to wait . . .”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Average food, nothing special. Very slow service and seemingly poorly organized kitchen. People who came in long after we did ate almost immediately. Bill was ?47 of which ?12 was for plain old water! Perhaps a 3 vote is too kind.

Helpful?
Thank TimFer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“Inexpensive & Friendly Potential Local”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Came across Zillemarkt purely by accident and in need of some thirst satiation. Place was nearly empty which doesn't normally give one a sense of atmosphere but the deor and layout gave one a sense of the way the place could be when bustling and busy. Certainly a place where a good evening could be well spent.
Service was friendly and efficient . Total bill was a surprisingly cheap given that beer is not normally exactly cheap in Germany.
Toliet facilities spotless.
Would certainly come back for a longer stay (and more beer) on another visit, if the weather was warmer one could also take in the beer garden to the rear.
Liked it...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank marksw3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Authentic german cuisine”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you want to eat some authentic german food and don't want to pay to much - this is the right place! The food is very well (nothing special or creative though), portions are big and the beer great. The service could have been better and I have seen fancier restaurants but I would go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cmon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food & Beer, good service on a quiet night.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our group of 3 arrived at about 7pm, possibly early for Berlin, not sure the day, but it was mostly empty. With that in mind, service was excellent. Prompt, in well spoken English, & attentive. It was a good mix of relaxing, yet not delayed.

I was happy to find an English menu, which made ordering something new much more enjoyable. The prices were decent for the quantity of food. I had the potato soup and Bratwurst. I was hoping to save room for the Apple Strudel, but could not fit it. Both the soup and Bratwurst were great and had lots of added potatoes, which filled me up. Both my colleagues enjoyed their meals. Of course we all enjoyed the German beer.

Overall the food was delicious, the price was decent, and the menu and English speaking wait staff made it enjoyable. Better than a typical foreign city experience, where I get frustrated by wanting to try something new but not knowing what I'm getting. It also seems to be a mostly locals place, as I did not notice other "tourists" around us. On a quiet night, I'd highly recommend the Zillemarkt.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilot8766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zillemarkt also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Zillemarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing