We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just wonderful, wonderful, wanderbar!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heising

Heising
Ranked #5 of 8,236 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just wonderful, wonderful, wanderbar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I don't really like French food so the 5* should say it all! The rating is because of the wonderful owners and the service let alone the delightful ambience and exquisite food. The owners are just so sincere and at their age it is clearly a love and a passion to serve such outstanding cuisine. Forget your curry wurst experience just treat yourself and come here you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WozThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    139
    34
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Frage / Question”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

(english below)
Frage: Wie kommt es, dass das Restaurant seit über 30 Jahren existiert (und ein Schattendasein in einer Seitenstrasse fristet) und erst seit 2012 so viele und so überbordend gute Bewertungen in allen Sprachen bekommt?! Wundert das den aufmerksamen Tripadvisor-Leser nicht ein wenig?

Question: How come that the restaurant exists already for over 30 years in a off-location and only since the year 2012 it receives so much incredibily good reviews in various languages?!
Doesn't the vigilant Tripadvisor-reader get a bit suspicious?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank berlinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I found this resturant on tripadvisor and decided to try it out. It was the best meal we had in Berlin. The food was amazing and the service was fantastic. An old husband and wife own the resturant and they served us throughout the evening. They were both so charming and made us feel like we were in another time. At the end of the meal the man even gave me a rose to take home! All in all it was a great night and we would recommend it to anyone visiting berlin. Just make sure you have cash as they do not take credit card.

Helpful?
4 Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing Compares”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I visited this restaurant last December.It was so memorable. The food,the surroundings, also Mr and Mrs Heising make this truly memorable. There was nothing to compare this year in Munich.This place is a great find at a great price.

Marian G

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heising made my Girlfriend's night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, I had the frogs leg soufflé for starter whist my girlfriend had the foie Gras. Both dishes were spectacular. Our mains of Veal and Duck respectively were fantastic. Mr Heising recommended a bottle of German red wine which was surprisingly good and at a great value. As for atmosphere, you cannot beat the intimate nature of this restaurant. The service by Herr and Frau Heising is that of another age and something which will long live in my memory. I'd be happy to return there. Particularly good restaurant for couples.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyriacos Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heising also viewed

 

Been to Heising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing