We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel City Ost
Ranked #176 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Middle East
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay...”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Best Western Ost is right outside the metro station, as in, you climb the steps to the street and there it is. It was such a relief on a rainy night in Berlin with a quick transfer in from Brussels.
Gabriella and her colleagues were fantastic and helped us with everything that we needed for our stay. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Frau Thuy and the cleaning crew had the room in perfect shape every evening when we came back.
A fantastic stay and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Will definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WFProductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    557
    174
    36
    12
See reviews for
111
575
79
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived at the Hauptbahnhof and rode the S-bahn to Alexanderplatz where we transferred to the U-bahn. Like many people have mentioned, the Best Western City Ost is right at the Samariterstrasse stop on the U-5 line, in what used to be East Berlin. It is not really a tourist area, but there are enough local shops, etc., to keep you happy. It is also an easy ride on the U-bahn to Alexanderplatz and the more busy parts of town.

Our room, in the back part of the hotel, was adequate, very nice, with a frig, great shower and overlooked several rooftops and a few abandoned buildings. The one negative... the wifi signal did not reach our room, but it was usable in the lobby area. Overall, we had a good experience and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed four nights. Good location next to north east exit of the Samariterstrasse underground U5 station. Easy walking distance to restaurants and takeaways. Grocery store almost next door. Room was modern and of reasonable size. Breakfast was fresh and good selection available.
In front facing room the street noise was audible but not enough to disturb my sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARK521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and it was perfect. Clean spacious room with excellent bathroom. We weren't facing the road so we were not disturbed by traffic noise. The hotel is directly outside a ubahn stop, so easy to get to the centre!

If you leave the hotel and go right, keep walking until you reach a large junction with traffic lights, cross the road and go down the road ahead, there are so many restaurants to choose from down here and about a ten minute walk away!

Would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Berlin!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elinorsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice place close to the ubahn. Impossible to get closer. Easy place to travel to and from with trams, ubahn, s train and buses. Just a 5-10 minutes walk to the cool bars and restaurants in Friedrichshein.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluxus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for three days in the Best Western hotel. It's easily accessible by bus and subway. There is a subway stop right outside the hotel. The facade of the building doesn't look too inviting, but don't let that scare you! We arrived at 10, so our rooms weren't finished cleaning. No problem, we could drop our luggage in a safe room.
When we returned from our first trip sightseeing, we were happy to step into a clean and pretty room to sleep. It looked just like the pictures on the website. There were fresh towels and a note from the cleaning lady who made up our room. There was air-conditioning and a tv. There was wifi, but the connection was not very good on the room. I had to sit next to the door opposite the hallway to get some connection. No worries, because the wifi worked great in the lobby.
A great shower, no bathtub though, but we didn't mind.
We had a room at the back of the hotel (away from the front side), so we had no problems with street noise.

The breakfast is 9€ extra, but worth it. Very clean and I read earlier some people thought of it as a cafeteria. I bet it was because some tables were placed in long rows, but this was for large groups to sit. We had breakfast on a small table near a window. The breakfast was worth its money! Bacon, eggs, sausages, different kinds of rolls, bread, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, salmon, different kinds of cheese, juice, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, coffee,...
We did visit a nearby bakery the next day, because we wanted to experience something local. The steinecke brotmeisterei has breakfast deals and room to sit.

If we are returning to Berlin, we'll definitely book another room at the Best Western OST!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel. And not too close to the elevator. If you arrive too e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Me and my boyfriend recently stayed here for 3 nights for our trip to Berlin. The hotel is super easy to find as it's directly outside the U-Bahn station which is <10 minutes to a main station with the train to the airport. The location was perfect, only a few minutes walk from plenty of bars and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the room was comfy and clean. All in all a great hotel, and at a great price, and I would stay there again when next in Berlin

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
#201 of 634 in Berlin
390 reviews
Friedrichshain
Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost
Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
#265 of 634 in Berlin
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt
Lichtenberg
NH Berlin City Ost
NH Berlin City Ost
#120 of 634 in Berlin
394 reviews
Friedrichshain
Almodovar Hotel
Almodovar Hotel
#135 of 634 in Berlin
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel City Ost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel City Ost

Property: Best Western Hotel City Ost
Address: Frankfurter Allee 57-59, 10247 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#149 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#152 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel City Ost 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel City Ost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Ost
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing