We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel City Ost
Ranked #180 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value room”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Found the hotel to be fairly good with comfortable beds and a decent shower. We had a room at the back of the hotel and found it to be pretty quiet considering the hotel is on a main road. All the staff we met while staying there were very helpful and the twin room was clean although quite small. The only downside was that one of the two lifts was out of service throughout our stay.

Having the u-bahn right outside was really handy and it was an easy journey into central Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    560
    174
    36
    13
See reviews for
112
577
79
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked this hotel specifically because it had air conditioning and we were visiting in the summer. The hotel isn't in the best part of town. It's okay during the day but not as great at night. The A/C in our room didn't work, and the desk clerk couldn't care less. We asked to move to another room and were told "no". The room was way too hot to sleep in, and opening a window gave us no relief, and provided us with the sounds of people yelling on the street all night. The elevator was broken as well, and we were on the 6th floor. The desk clerk never answered the phone, so we kept having to go up and down the stairs to talk to him. We checked out as soon as it was daylight. We had a 4 night reservation and they said they would charge for all 4 nights if we left. We left anyway and American Express was kind enough to refund me the other 3 nights.

We checked into the Best Western Hotel President Berlin for about $10 more a night, and WOW what a difference. The room was twice as big, cleaner, more modern, and it was in a much better part of town. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay.

After we returned to the States, I wrote the company a letter detailing my troubles with the hotel and their staff. They sent me a letter back that basically said that's how they do things. No apology or anything.

Bottom line, avoid this hotel and their terrible staff.

Room Tip: Stay at the Best Western Hotel President Berlin instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel room was clean and neat, the bed was nice and comfortable.
If its a bit warmer when you're there make sure the aircon is working properly - We spent our nights being very overheated even with the aircon cranked all the way up. Also don't expect the fridges to keep food cold enough for restaurant leftovers to be safe to eat the next day. And lastly one of the lifts was broken while we were staying and you could wait forever for a lift. We were on the top floor so the stairs were not an appealing alternative.. however we ended up taking the stairs for the majority of our stay.

The staff were lovely and the breakfast is good for 9Euro. The bakery next door is cheap and delicious and there is a Netto supermarket just two doors up (near the U station).
The front desk sells the Berlin welcome card (which we definitely recommend!) - if you need the 5 day one you need to use the machines in the underground station.
Very easy hotel to use as a base whilst exploring Berlin

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandWeurotrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a fourth floor smoking room with a wet room, which was huge. Lovely bed, comfy chair and plenty of hanging space. Underground right outside door and to the right of the hotel two streets down on the left loads of great bars and restaurants. On our last day my husband wanted a rest so I went left out of the hotel to a great little shopping mall for a wander. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vgils1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Clean, basic, a good base to sleep and go. The underground is right outside and bars less than ten minutes walk. Easy to get everywhere but you feel like you are off the tourist trail which is great. The bakery next door is cheap, there is also a beer shop open late over the road. Netto is next door. You can have a cheap break with everything to hand here.

Room Tip: Higher floors have poorer WIFI connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teepee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Pros:
The room was a good size and quite comfortable. It was clean and the bathroom was good (although the shower was a little cramped). Great location (U-bahn right outside the door, and S-bahn about 5 minutes walk away) making it easy to get to most places from the hotel. It was also very easy to get between the hotel and the airport on the S-bahn.

Cons:
The "double bed" was two single mattresses jammed together. When I asked reception about this I was told "that's a double bed in Germany". I find this hard to believe and felt a little mislead about it being sold as a double.

The "free wifi in room" boasted by the hotel was so weak we could only access it from the lobby. While this wasn't a huge inconvenience, I feel it should not be advertised as being available in the room when it effectively isn't.

The air conditioning did not work. It was quite warm when we were there and during the night it was unbearably hot in the room. Being on a main road, we didn't want to keep the window open all night, as it was quite noisy. When I asked at reception about this they said the air con had not been switched on yet as it had not been hot for long enough. I was told to just keep the window open. Again, if there is no air conditioning available in the room, it should not be advertised as being air conditioned.

Upon checking out, the receptionist was rude and sarcastic. I wasn't sure whether she needed my name or room number first so I waited to be asked. She stared at me blankly until I said "I'm sorry, I don't know what information you need first" and she replied "Uh, like maybe you room number?" in a really sarcastic tone. I felt this was completely unnecessary and put a bit of a dampener on our morning.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay, but I was annoyed at the rudeness of the staff and not getting what I had paid for.

Room Tip: A room on a low floor towards the back of the hotel might result in better internet reception, whils...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robot_crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was a pretty average hotel. It was clean and close to the metro. There was a bakery and grocery store close by so we never ate breakfast there. My one suggestion would be to bring your own hairdryer because the one there is quite pitiful. Otherwise, everything was fine including the internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mllespear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
#199 of 634 in Berlin
397 reviews
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt
Friedrichshain
Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
#275 of 634 in Berlin
144 reviews
Lichtenberg
NH Berlin City Ost
NH Berlin City Ost
#113 of 634 in Berlin
405 reviews
Friedrichshain
Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel City Ost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel City Ost

Property: Best Western Hotel City Ost
Address: Frankfurter Allee 57-59, 10247 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#149 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#152 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel City Ost 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel City Ost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Ost
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing