We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Raclette

La Raclette
Ranked #3,309 of 8,236 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: French, European, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Went here with two friends on a Friday evening. Tables are so close together it very uncomfortable. Very smokey from the kitchen and fire so thst the air felt very stuffy.
Service was terrible we had to ask for a menu and were shown a blackboard with the food and drinks. Most dishes were in French and we had to ask what they were as we could only guess.
When our food arrived we had to ask for cutlery and napkins.
My dish was under cooked and for what I ordered overpriced. We left feeling ripped off and it was a damper on our evening. None of us would recommend this place or think of going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank europeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    6
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Not Great for Large Groups”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We went with a party of six, and while the food was good, I wouldn't recommend going with more than four people. We only had one grill between us (as we would have with only two people), so it was almost 10 minutes between 'turns' for people to be able to eat.

Additionally, as I'm a vegetarian, I asked about getting a separate grill, they said no. I explained that I didn't want to cook my veggies on the same grill as the meat, they said the veggies didn't need cooking. Perhaps technically true, they weren't actually raw, but they were stone cold and would have been much improved by a bit more cooking.

Add that to the fact that it was very expensive, especially for Berlin, and I'd think twice about coming here in a group.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lettezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Raclette inside a VW bus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Food was great, service was excellent, it was a nice afternoon in Berlin so we did not want to sit inside, and the tables outside had people smoking, so the waitress asked us if we wanted to have dinner inside this old VW bus that was parked on the side of the restaurant, it was empty with just a table and two chairs and some lighted candles, very romantic. We ordered the Raclette for two, the food was delicious. All types of meats, vegetables and the cheese was fantastic. Great place, definitely recommend

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I know it may sound a little odd going to a French restaurant in Berlin, but we wanted a romantic restaurant for our anniversary. The food was amazing, rivaling any dinner we had in Paris. Even though it was June (and truly a bit chilly) there was a wood burning fire, very romantic. What made it even more romantic was that we had the entire place to ourselves. It wasn't because the place isn't amazing, rather Germany was playing an important game in the Euro Cup.

Lastly, our server was fantastic. She was really friendly, helpful and attentive. Note: because they don't take credit cards, I got to know her well while my husband was out getting cash. Be sure to take cash!

I can't say I was crazy about Berlin, so this restaurant was a real oasis!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank danalynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 598 helpful votes
“needlessly expensive and slow, needlessly disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

Me and the family did a New Years evening dinner at La Raclette.

The main attraction for La Raclette are miniature charcoal fired grills that are placed on top of each table on which diners can grill vegetables or thinly sliced meats, while alongside the grill is a slab of rapidly melting cheese that can be sliced or scooped off.

GOOD:

The ambiance is really nice. Roaring fire in the corner. Candles lit up all over the place. They had live music happening at certain points on New Years Eve, but when the performer wasn't going it was music coming from someone's MacBook + iTunes. Not sure if that's the regular setup, though.

BAD:

We got there at 8 p.m., got around to ordering at 8:30, got served the actual meal at 10:30 p.m., managed to get out of there at 11:30 p.m.

Granted, this was New Years night we were there (and they had multiple "backstage" rooms with much larger parties & tables than our modest table of three people), but a meal that takes more than three hours to complete seems positively slothful, even for French cuisine.

The serving sizes weren't all that substantial for the price we paid per person. The "meat" plate had maybe 8 pieces in total on it while the vegetable plate had 4 pieces of ham, along with a large amount of kartoffles (potatoes),

Despite the "American Express" sticker on the door, La Raclette does not accept credit cards.

No non-German menus for International diners.

ANNOYING:

Our super slowly served meal for three people came out to be 175€. This included servings for three people (at 25€ each -- only slightly inflated for New Years, the usual price is 23€ per person…. actual menu prices can be found on La Raclette's web site), two bottles of wine (at 36€ each, probably would have only been a single bottle had the service not been so ridiculously slow), one bottle of still water, French Onion soup and a tiny goat cheese salad. For Euro prices like this, I would've expected a lot more. Between the slow service and the staggering bill, this turned out to be a disappointing dining experience.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MichaelInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Raclette also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to La Raclette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing