We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U Inn Berlin Hostel

U Inn Berlin Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
U Inn Berlin Hostel
Ranked #70 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This little hostel is tucked away in trendy Friedrichshain and is all the better for it. With great staff, a great atmosphere and an awesome location, it's really got everything I was after. I was in Berlin for about 8 days and nothing beat the casual stroll up through the soviet buildings of Karl-Marx-Allee and Frankfurter Allee, into Alexanderplatz and Mitte, or just exploring the surrounding neighbourhood. The u-bahn is close by, too. berlin is a beautiful, unique part of the world and U Inn Hostel was the perfect place to experience it. Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RupertHetherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
18
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Really neat hostel with S-U bach theme all over. Place right between
Samariterstraße U-bahn and Frankfurter Allee S-U bahn. Lots of small restaurants, cafes, shops around. Very clean hostel, nice hostel staff. Hostel can give you hair dryer or iron if need one. Nice kitchen where you can cook some food. Also you can take breakfast for 2 euro (toasts, corn flakes, coffee, milk). Small lounge on the first floor, where you can sit and relax. Toilets are unisex, which brings some... tension. But shower rooms on first floor are separeted and each have two shower cabin, and toilet rooms.
Over all – really great place to stay with your friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

i spent one night in u inn - staff was very friendly and helpful, i have single room and it was really clean - only 1 negative thing is that if you wanna get into this single room - you have to go through 6-bed dorminory (so when i go away at the morning, i felt lil bit stupid when i was maybe kinda more noisy with all stuffs and everyone there are still sleeping :P) ... A++++ ... yea and good location - shopping center, restaurants and U-Sbahn, tram are really close

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkimikkiSVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I had to join Trip Advisor to vote for this place because I felt like it was so deserving! We only booked a room for two people but my boyfriend decided to join us at the last minute and the staff were easily able to get him a room for 5 days. The hostel was bright and clean, the staff were absolutely brilliant in giving us advice on where to eat, go out, do touristy stuff etc. We were really close to the city and did a lot of traveling across Berlin during our stay, we actually spent a couple of night sjust hanging out at the hostel because the vibe there was so chilled and the other people staying there were lovely. If I go back to Berlin I'll definitely stay there again. By far my best hostel experience.

Room Tip: This place seems to get booked out quick so I would book online (we did this and just gave a $30 dep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Really nice hostel- great location a few minutes walk from u/s bahn station- easy to find and on a safe street. Extremely clean and homely. Stayed in the 8 bed dorm and there wasn't loads of space but it was fine- we pretty much only slept in the room- the communal areas were nice and there's a small bar with pool tables next door. Is not a party hostel so you can get a good night's sleep whilst is is near berlin's clubbing district. Would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I was so pleasantly surprised by my stay at U Inn!! When I arrived at the hostel after an overnight flight, I didn't have much of a plan beyond a shower. After a long chat with the front desk, I was full of fun ideas for the next week of my stay!! I washed up in the clean bathrooms and jumped immediately into town!!

From beginning to end, the staff was super friendly and helpful with anything I needed-- from extra adapters to directions to restaurant recommendations. Plus, there was such a great community vibe among all the visitors. The kitchen was busy with people cooking, playing cards, sipping tea and exchanging adventures from the day. I felt very fortunate to have found such a safe, clean and cool scene!

The location was also near a metro stop and a good launching point for lots of tourist hot spots!! I highly recommend checking this hostel out if you are looking for a low key place to stay with a great vibe!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMFAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hostel has everything you could want- lounge, well equipped kitched, friendly staff, good sized, airy rooms and everything in good working order.

It's extremely easy to get around from, and very close to the centre.

I am staying in a single roomas it was the last available bed. I have to go throu the 6 bed dorm to get there, which is a bit wierd, but otherwise it is excellent. Breakfast is pretty limited but at €2, who's counting?

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Having seen the 6 bed and single rooms, both are excellent, so if you dont mind sharing, I'd rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost
Friedrichshain
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
#243 of 662 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Friedrichshain
BackpackerBerlin
BackpackerBerlin
#157 of 354 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 354 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Friedrichshain
Kiez Pension
Kiez Pension
#17 of 190 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Neukolln
2A Hostel
2A Hostel
#51 of 354 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Inn Berlin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Inn Berlin Hostel

Property: U Inn Berlin Hostel
Address: Finowstr. 36, 10247 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — U Inn Berlin Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a new cozy little hostel in the most happening part of Berlin - Friedrichshain. We have newly renovated, tastefully fully decorated doubles, singles, twins and dorms. Free Breakfast, Linen and Internet all included!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your U Inn Berlin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing