We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate heaven”

Rausch Schokoladenhaus
Ranked #8 of 8,508 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $24
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mitte
Description: A very warm welcome to the Rausch Schokoladenhaus in Berlin, Germany. The Rausch Schokoladenhaus, located in the Gendarmenmarkt square in Berlin's Mitte district, is completely devoted to enjoyment. Leave all of your cares outside and let yourself be enchanted by the unique world of chocolate. Just step inside.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Chocolate heaven”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I had heard that Fassbender & Rausch had a huge restaurant/store after i returned from my 2008 trip to Berlin. So this time around when i made another trip back in May 2014, I made sure that this was on my list to visit. Needless to say I was not disappointed. I ordered a fish dish that had pieces of white chocolate in it....it was funnily very delicious. And the presentation of all dishes was beautiful. The restaurant is on the 2nd floor (or I guess it is considered the first floor in Europe). It has a great view of what i believe is the Französischer Dom.
I would definitely go back the next time I am in Berlin....but next time i will make sure to go across the street and see the Genarmenmarkt which I am sad I didn't get a chance to visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mightytaiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,333
    532
    98
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great to visit even just a look”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Inside the shop they have structures made of chocolate, worth a look, and the chocolate is to die for

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kickinchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If you love chocolate”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This restaurant is fantastic to have dinner at if you love chocolate. It´s the first chocolaterestaurant in Europe. They use chocolate as spice. You have a lot to choose between and you can end with delicious small cakes - of course with chocolate.
And on bottomfloor you have a shop with worldfamous chocolate.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BIBS_FOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious Chocolate Cafe”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a delicious lunch in the cafe above the chocolate store. We ordered two of the several hot chocolate choices as well as two different sundaes for lunch. It was one of the best hot chocolates and ice cream we have ever had. Definitely make a stop here on your trip to Berlin!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DNeck19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
909 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 685 helpful votes
“Even for someone not addicted to chocolate this was a great experience.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Chocolate Café at Fassbender & Rausch is located on the first floor above the main chocolate shop and is accessed by a lift at the back of the shop.
I relented and agreed to visit for afternoon coffee and chocolate delights after it became apparent that my wife was in danger of getting us thrown out of the main shop for licking the large chocolate display frog.
And actually I have to say it was a great experience.
The café is very comfortable and relaxed with good service levels and the beverages and chocolate treats available are superb. For those with a chocolate tooth the range of chocolate tortes available at €3.95 for the standard ones and €5.90 for the premium ones is very impressive
I pushed the boat out and went for the Cold Arriba Coffee Hopper at €4.90 which was milk with coffee, Maraschino liqueur, Cointreau and whipped cream, and the couple from the standard range of Chocolate tortes we tried were superb, especially the Tiramisu Törtchen which was the best €4 I have consumed for a long time.
In conclusion , a very pleasant café for a break from sightseeing in its own right, but if you have a taste for chocolate, make a path to here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rausch Schokoladenhaus also viewed

 

Been to Rausch Schokoladenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing