We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Berlin Monuments out of Chocolate!!!”

Rausch Schokoladenhaus - Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 8,306 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Description: A very warm welcome to the Rausch Schokoladenhaus in Berlin, Germany. The Rausch Schokoladenhaus, located in the Gendarmenmarkt square in Berlin's Mitte district, is completely devoted to enjoyment. Leave all of your cares outside and let yourself be enchanted by the unique world of chocolate. Just step inside.
Kembs, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing Berlin Monuments out of Chocolate!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I've went to that impressive place just in front of our Hilton Hotel in Berlin during our short 3 days break around the New Year with my wife. The monuments out of chocolate are not only impressive but the chocolate smell inside the shop is just so tempting...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pgerwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,289
    517
    93
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Chocolate Hit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hubby and I visited Berlin in mid December and having read the reviews had to pay this establishment a visit. The shop floor was chocolate heaven and I didnt know where to start! Brandenburg Gate was amongst one of the fabulous chocolate creations! I ended up buying chocolate as well as a couple of Christmas ornaments. We managed to get a table at the restaurant above where the service was efficient although the staff seemed somewhat rushed. Understandable as it was very busy. The hot chocolate was divine but despite being a chocolate lover, both hubby and I found the cakes very very rich and sickly. If you're hoping to try small slices of various cakes then you'll be disappointed. Overall, I wouldn't go out of my way to visit again but should I be passing by then I'd certainly drop in for a hot chocolate.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bettymay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“You. Must. Go.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The famous Fassbender & Rausch chocolate shop was one of the highlights of mine and my partners Christmas trip to Berlin.

I am a Chocolate Addict! We are talking about Chocolate that puts Hotel Chocolat to shame, and at really incredibly cheap prices, it's the place to be.
They also have a cafe with amazing cakes and drinks which we went to which was surprisingly quiet at the time we went. You. Must. Go.

PS: I do agree with below comments regarding the staff. They also left me and my boyfriend stood waiting at the front for 10 minutes waiting to be seated. When I asked a staff member he said just sit anywhere, then, never came to us for another 20 minutes to be served. My boyfriend stood up and went to the counter which have cakes displayed where the lady said it is service at the table only! After that the man who told us to sit anywhere came over and took our order. Very rude indeed I think they need to remind themselves what position they work, no offense. Don't let this put you off though. The chocolate, hot drinks and cakes are delicious!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katsaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerini, Greece
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just great :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Basically this is more of a tourist attraction rather a restaurant and you need to visit just to see all the great things made of chocolate, buy some chocolates and if you like, have a cup of hot chocolate in the cafe upstairs :)

If you are fun of chocolate, you can't miss this place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoroklou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Best chocolates ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This shop was right near our hotel and every time we walked past it had a lot of people in it. The chocolates were delicious and the range was extensive. We took some of the chocolates home and they were very popular. The displays were incredible and well worth taking a photo of them. We did not get to the café/restaurant but it seemed very popular. The chocolates were not expensive and well packaged for travel.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rausch Schokoladenhaus - Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rausch Schokoladenhaus - Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing