We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmarzipan”

Rausch Schokoladenhaus
Ranked #10 of 8,583 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mitte
Description: A very warm welcome to the Rausch Schokoladenhaus in Berlin, Germany. The Rausch Schokoladenhaus, located in the Gendarmenmarkt square in Berlin's Mitte district, is completely devoted to enjoyment. Leave all of your cares outside and let yourself be enchanted by the unique world of chocolate. Just step inside.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mmmmarzipan”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice, gourmet choclate shop and not as expensive as you'd expect at all. The chocolate models are a thing to behold, as are the cabinets that run the length of the shop, full of truffles and marzipan!

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,362
    542
    99
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Chocolate everywhere !!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went in for lunch and we were very impressed. Everything on the menu has chocolate in it. Even the small bread and tomato dip did not escape the chocolate inclusion. We both had a lovely lentil stew which had chocolate in the sauce and it was lovely. Coffee was great and the abundant choice of cakes looked very nice.

Shop is very impressive with several Berlin landmarks made out of chocolate. Prices are very reasonable and there are a great choice of products on sale. A must visit in Berlin !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best hot chocolate!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were just finishing a four hour walking tour in the freezing cold when we walked past this place.
The chocolate sculptures in the window of Berlin landmarks are amazing. As we finished the tour, the only place we could think about was here to get warm. We had the best hot chocolate ever! My daughter had the milk chocolate with cream, I had the the El Cuador, the 75% one, with milk. We shared a Tiramisu cake. Fabulous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AF1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Choc lovers delight”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Downstairs is a shop that overcomes you with the smell of chocolate, it gets better when you go upstairs to the cafe with a view over the gendarmarkt. Chocolate drink about 4e and a cake 4e. I thought that it was fairly cheap for such a Berlin institution. You might have to wait a short time to be seated.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TourismProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“the stuff of dreams...”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My friend and I have been looking forward to our short holiday In Berlin since December 2012 and a visit to this establishment for almost as long. We were not disappointed. First, the ground floor almost beggars belief with the wonderful sculptures, very tempting to say the least. Onwards and upwards, literally to the first floor restaurant where we were shown to a window table overlooking Charlottenstrasse by a very personable gentleman. Our waitress was helpful and cheerful. The complimentary starter was a surprise and very tasty, Our main courses were delicious and if I were to make any adverse remark it would be that I had too much on my plate. (This is not to say that I did not manage to clear my plate}. Finally to dessert and what a dessert. It looked exactly like its image on the menu and the taste was heavenly. I am not a chocoholic, but I could easily become addicted if all chocolate tasted like this. Whoever thought that chocolate could accompany savoury dishes was a genius.
We visited the shop before leaving, and needless to say we did not leave empty handed. A truly wonderful experience and one that I hope to repeat again one day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthW486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rausch Schokoladenhaus also viewed

 

Been to Rausch Schokoladenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing