We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay and price too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Ranked #165 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed August 15, 2013

good place to stay and value for money. Rooms clean and well maintained. Beds comfortable too. Bathroom towels and toiletries changed daily. Staff very friendly, helpful and spoke good English. A good variety for your continental breakfast and great that it was included in the price of the hotel. Hotel close to u-bahn Wittenbergplatz and the bus100 stop is on the other side of the road and only 15 mins to historical centre of Berlin. Wi-Fi ok but not great in rooms. Only one small issue was with the shower being hard to control. Its temp went between hot and too hot when a cooler temp would have helped. Reported it and was told the shower temp was also controlled by the temp within the room. A cooler room a warmer shower (strange). Reported again on leaving and the member of staff said they would have it checked it out. Would have no problems staying here again. Berlin a lovely city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyp183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear martyp183,

thank you for your review.
I'm glad, that you had a good time in Berlin and our hotel although the condition in your guestroom was not to your full satisfaction. Please let me know when we may book another stay for you and I will check the room personally to assure your stay will be much more comfortable.

With best Regards
Ilka Artigas
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is our second trip to Berlin this year. We chose to stay at this hotel again given its ideal situation (close to Zoo Station). Breakfast is great, staff are friendly & helpful, and this is a quiet part of Berlin. There is also a Ubahn (Wittenbergplatz) within 5 mins walk.
This is very handy for anything on the West of Berlin (Charlottenburg Palace, Olympic Stadium etc), but is also only 6 stops from Potsdamer Platz.
Good place to stay.

Room Tip: Room at the back is quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear NashJ,

Your key is ready for you at the front desk. Just let me know your move-in date and I will take care of the rest!

So glad you enjoyed your stay again.

With warm Regards
Ilka Artigas
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was a pleasure to stay in. NIce breakfast, clean, quiet and a great location. If they had free wireless in the rooms, I would have given it an even higher rating. But the next time I am in Berlin, i will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank SoCal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear SoCal4,

thank you for your 4*** - rating! Did you know that you can book your room even with complimentary WIFI? Give us a call and we'll be happy get you started for that !

With kind regards
Ilka Artigas
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just left this hotel yesterday. What can I say? You get what you pay for...rooms a tad on the small side, but adequate. Spotlessly clean. Very polite, friendly and helpful staff - all of whom spoke excellent English - to my great shame, that I could only speak a little German. Despite being in the centre of the city, noise was not a problem. Air conditioning was a godsend, since when we were there it was around 33 degrees most days and very humid. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice, breads, meat, cheese, croissants, cereals and yoghurts - but get there early to avoid queues. I did look at lots of other hotels and yes, there were more opulent hotels, but I'm a realist and all I need is clean facilities, friendly folk and a relaxed atmosphere - definitely got this here. The only reason I haven't given five stars is because wifi signal was very poor and ...the cost of having laundry done was astronomical (don't do it!)...luckily there was a slight misunderstanding and ours wasn't done, however that was a plus, when I saw the price list...I'd have had to remortgage...4 euros for a bra, 6 euros for a pair of knickers....etc!!!
Overall cannot praise the place enough though and will go back, also recommending to friends :) <-- happy customer and thank you to the lovely staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenni_nelson736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Jenni,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us! I have already passed along your compliments to our staff members. We love our work here, and there's nothing we enjoy more than making every guest's experience one to remember.

Again, thank you for choosing our hotel!

Ilka Artigas
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Everything you might expect from Holiday Inn Express in a city centre. Great location, good rooms and a great price, Staff friendly and complimentary breakfast good quality. But have to pay for wifi- seems a shame for a connection which was not great, Checked in at ten am went back at three and then waited for ten minutes for free room- not great. In the morning check out time midday but cleaner tried three times to access the room while I was in it before this time. Again not great. Overall good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Robjar,

thank you for taking the time to write an overview regarding your stay.
I really apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
We already talked to our housekeeping supervisor to make sure that this does not happen again.

We hope to see you again!

Kind Regards
Ilka Artigas
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

An excellent base for a trip to Berlin. The double room has a kettle with tea/coffee (although the two tiny milk portions are insufficient for the coffee/tea provided daily), a hair drier, and shower cream dispensers at sink and shower. A well designed two position en-suite door means the toilet can be used separately to the shower/sink area if required.
Breakfasts are labelled on a posters around the hotel as "All you can eat" with coffee/tea/apple & orange juice available, plus cereals, hard boiled eggs, sliced meats and cheese (albeit all processed), fruit, yogurts, and a good variety of breads, pastries, croissants and jams. Available from 6.30am which is great if you need to leave for an early flight. It gets busy after 8am but is constantly being replenished if anything runs out.
The 100 bus runs past the hotel which runs to and from the Zoo at the SW corner of the Tiergarten to Alexanderplatz taking you right past the Reichstag/Bundestag and on up the Unter den Linden, therefore convenient to get off for Museum Island and Berliner Dom etc.
The most convenient U-bahn was Wittenbergplatz which was about 5 mins walk south of the hotel, and linked direct to the U1, U2 and U3 plus had a few restaurants around the square, and a bank with ATM machines. There is also a good value steakhouse on the corner a few metres west of the hotel, and a Netto Supermarket a few minutes walk to the east.
It took nearly an hour from Schonefeld airport to the hotel by public transport, including the walk from Wittenbergplatz but was very easy (bus to Rudow, U7 to Mockernbrucke, then U1 to Witternbergplatz) and there may be a quicker route!

Room Tip: We has a room facing the back of the hotel which was very quiet, and we were able to have the window...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calstaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Calstaples,

thank you! I don't think I could have written a more informative report review myself -- much obliged! I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Ilka Artigas
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent five days in Berlin and were very happy with our hotel choice. The hotel location is very convenient for both, shopping and site seeing. As bus No.100 stops just near the hotel, you do not even need the U-Bahn. The main shopping area is in just 10 minutes walk from the hotel and it takes only 15 minutes to reach the city center and main tourist attractions by bus.
The room was surprisingly big, there was a small couch in the room, that can be used if you are traveling with a child. The room is very convenient, it was equipped with tea / coffee making facilities, hair dryer and toiletries. The only downside was that the WiFi didn't work, neither in the room, nor in the lobby area.
The hotel staff is very nice and helpful.
We definitely will recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Sheinman,

thank you very much for your lovely review.

We would be thrilled to welcoming you back again.

With best Regards
Ilka Artigas
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Mitte
Holiday Inn Express Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#113 of 635 in Berlin
1,832 reviews
Friedrichshain
Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost
Charlottenburg
Mercure Hotel Chateau
Mercure Hotel Chateau
#255 of 635 in Berlin
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West

Address: Kurfuerstenstr. 78, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#130 Family Hotel in Berlin
#143 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $86 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel opened in 2008! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is located in the center of Berlin only a few steps away from the famous boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well-known department store KaDeWe, the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Memorial Church, Berlin Zoo, Potsdamer Platz and Charlottenburg Castle. The worldfamous Alexanderplatz in Berlin Mitte, the Berlin Jewish Museum, the Berlin Wall, the Brandburg Gate, Berlin Unter den Linden, Friedrichstrasse , and Check Point Charlie are all within easy access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West offers 158 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is only two minutes from the InterContinental Hotel which hosts major events throughout the year. The Holiday Inn Express Berlin Hotel City Centre West offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to reception and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West Hotel Berlin
Holiday Inn Berlin
Berlin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing