We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good stay and very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Ranked #166 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good stay and very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed here as it was basically the best I could find on a student budget- it was better than I could have expected!

Double room was spacious, brand new feeling and with a sofa as well as the bed. Check-in and check-out were very fast, and the staff were extremely helpful. I am especially thankful to the young man on the desk in the evening who I asked if there were any good restaurants nearby. He recommended Ambrosius just 5-10 minute walk down the road for traditional German food and it was excellent, notice it doesn't have many reviews on here but it is worth a look if you stay here! He also spoke perfect English which I appreciate is quite common amongst those in Berlin but still impressive!

Only problem for us were that the room was quite hot- we were incredibly tired so we just fell straight to sleep anyway but had to have the window open which made it loud for the road outside. We turned the fan right up too, but it was still very hot so we were kicking the covers off, surprising in January! I am sure this would have been sorted out for us had we asked but we were too tired to bother!

Thanks to everyone there for our stay, would happily go back again if I returned to Berlin.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Joe P,
What a nice summary of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West and here is our big thank you for sharing this feedback with us.

I hope you will soon make another trip to Berlin. We look forward to seeing you.

All the best for 2012!

Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    492
    134
    25
    14
See reviews for
229
310
61
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Very comfortable here for a one week stay. The location is excellent - close to a main shopping, eating, and entertainment area, down the street from the zoo and near the Tiergarten. I had considered Motel One around the corner, but for about 15 euros more, the Holiday Inn Express has bigger and much nicer rooms. The hotel is fairly new. The rooms are quiet, pleasantly, if minimally, decorated. I booked a double bed. It was fine for one, a little cramped for two - a queen size would have been better. The bathroom was big enough and the shower hot plenty of hot water at all times. I thought the single blue ceiling light was nice so you could use the bathroom in the middle of the night without being blinded. The room had plenty of electrical outlets. There was no individual climate control, but the temperature was fine. I don't know how it is in summer. The window could be opened if necessary. My room had a small fold-out sofa, a good workdesk, and enough light for reading on the sofa or in bed. The wifi was excellent. I think it should be free for all price categories, but 5 euros per 24 hours is quite reasonable if they are going to charge. A safe in the room would be handy but there is one at reception. This is a Holiday Inn EXPRESS, so there are no refrigerator or mini-bar in the room (not a deal breaker for me), nor closet nor drawers, but there is a place to hang a few things. The reception staff was really great. They printed my travel documents for me whenever I needed to do that. One thing I would like to see changed: the lobby vending machines have cookies, crackers, candies, etc. Some dried fruits and nuts would be good to offer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the extra sofa-bed in it. Much more comfortable when you are sitting around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortOfCall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear PortOfCall99,
thank you very much for your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West. We appreciate your kind words and are pleased to read that we could deliver the service you expected. We'll share your uplifting words with all our staff members.
Your Team from the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariehamn, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Pros : Very silent and clean room, with kettle plus coffee and tea. Professional staff. Really cheap for the location and close to the underground. Also the instruction to reach the hotel on their website was really helpful.

Cons : The WIFI access was not free which is quite surprising in 2012 and there was no vegetables for the breakfast.

Otherwise we definitely recommend it even for a full week as we have done it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vlad74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Vlad74,
thank you very much for your time to write an overview regarding your stay.
We appreciate your kind words and are proud to say that we'll add vegetables to our complimentary breakfast by February.
We are looking foward to welcoming you back again.
Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel during business trip. Room i clean and comfortable, with tea / coffe facilities. No minibar. No problem with WiFi internet (EUR 5,0 per 24 hours). Breakfast quite frugal. There is a perfect Argentinian steakhouse restaurant near the hotel. Shopping street and railway station are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Room 818 is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvilBorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear EvilBorg,
Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Hotel and your review here on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon as our guest and remain
with kind regards
The Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in Mid- November 2011. We flew into Tegel airport and the hotel is very easy to get to from there via bus (X9/100). All the reception staff we dealt with where very friendly and spoke perfect English. We stayed on the 5th floor over looking the main road (Kurfuerstenstrasse), although you could hear the traffic noise it wasn't annoying and it didn't affect our sleep. The room itself was modern and clean, with the bathroom being stylish - the blue led night light was a nice touch! There wasn't a wardrobe as such, just a rail and shelves, but this is common in budget hotels. The bed wasn't that comfy for me and I struggled to sleep in it at first, although my girlfriend had no problems with it. There is a kettle and coffee/tea in the room, although ours didn't seem to get topped up fully until it all had gone - basically limiting you to one coffee a day! You may of been able to get it refiled by reception but we never asked.

We were pleased with the breakfast, they had a reasonably good selection of cereals/bread/meat/cheese/hard boiled eggs and pastries plus tea/coffee/fruit juices. The restaurant did get busy at times but there wasn't any trouble getting a seat.

It is easy to get to the main attractions from this hotel, the 100 bus goes from outside the hotel to Alexanderplatz, the 200 bus does a similar route from the street above the hotel (Budapester Strasse) and Wittenbergplatz U-Bahn is 8-10 mins away.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, it may not be anything special but it was perfect for a city break in Berlin.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digitalmunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Digitalmunkey,
Thank you very much for your time and your friendly words regarding your stay. We are more than happy to be able to deliver what you expected.
We hope to welcome you back soon as our guest.
With best regards
Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Visited late November 2011, stayed for 3 nights in a very quite double room and enjoyed my stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, picked my prearrived packages and safeguarded them until my arrival. The complimentary breakfast had less variety than is usual in German hotels however everything was fresh and tasty.
The hotel is very close to the colourful Charlottenburg area (10 minutes walk) and the major sightseeing bus line 100 directly passes on the Kurfursten street across the hotel. Bus 100 operates between Zoo and Alexandraplatz almost every 10-15 minutes and crosses through all Berlin sightseeings including Musuem Island and stops at Schill street station, 100 metres from the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms looking to the backyard are silent; book a room higher than the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMO_Istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear MMO_Instanbul,
Thanky you very much for choosing our Hotel during your stay in Berlin.We appreciate your good feedback and are very pleased you have had a good time with us.
Especially your comment about our staff is highly motivating for all our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon as our guests.
Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel opened only three years ago and represents the modern construction style applied to many HI Express properties of late. North American visitors may notice that the free breakfast does not offer all the times usually seen in Canada and the US., but bread and cuts are plentiful, and boiled eggs. No omelettes though. Located in the core of old West Berlin - I asked the front desk about another Holiday Inn in Berlin (Landsberger Allee). The receptionist first denied its existance, but then said that as they are franchised she would not know about other HI properties in Berlin. It seems to corporate brand of IHG is not very pervasive towards the staff.

Room Tip: Kurfurstenstrasse is usually quiet, but rooms on the rear side are more silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maitland55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear Maitland55,
Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West.
We are pleased to hear that you had spent some enjoyable days with us. We appreciate that you are pointing out our good breakfast buffet .
We will pass your commendation to our Front Desk staff and we will use it for further trainings. We are looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon and remain
with best regards
Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Schoneberg
Hotel Sylter Hof
Hotel Sylter Hof
#114 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Golden Tulip Berlin - Hotel Hamburg
Charlottenburg
Mercure Hotel Chateau
Mercure Hotel Chateau
#218 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
Address: Kurfuerstenstr. 78, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#130 Family Hotel in Berlin
#144 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel opened in 2008! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is located in the center of Berlin only a few steps away from the famous boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well-known department store KaDeWe, the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Memorial Church, Berlin Zoo, Potsdamer Platz and Charlottenburg Castle. The worldfamous Alexanderplatz in Berlin Mitte, the Berlin Jewish Museum, the Berlin Wall, the Brandburg Gate, Berlin Unter den Linden, Friedrichstrasse , and Check Point Charlie are all within easy access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West offers 158 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is only two minutes from the InterContinental Hotel which hosts major events throughout the year. The Holiday Inn Express Berlin Hotel City Centre West offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to reception and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West Hotel Berlin
Holiday Inn Berlin
Berlin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing