We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, everything else passable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche
Ranked #417 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Pros:
- Great great location: 2 mins from subway station, around the corner from the busiest shopping street in Berlin, a big supermarket at the Zoo station (5 min walk), lots of eating options near by
- High ceiling and decent size room
- Cheap given the location
- Helpful staff
- Has a v small elevator

So so;
- Basic basic furnitures
- Breakfast too expensive (10 euro per person) given the type of hostel it is

Cons:
- Climiate control = you can open the windows and control the heater in winter
- Pretty clean but a somewhat aged/run down feeling
- On my floor, one bathroom with 2 showers and 2 toilets + another bathroom with 1 shower and 1 toilet. Generally empty. But very small showers. Toilet bowls old. You can lock the doors of the bathrooms, but I wish the showers and toilets are all separate like in some better hostels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inka_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 164 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

If you're looking for a hotel which is cheap and in a fairly central location, this place is for you. If you're looking for anything else - don't go here, it won't have it.

Main gripes: The beds were VERY uncomfortable. Just a thin, unsupportive mattress on a hard base. The curtains were flimsy, see-through and barely stretched the length of the window so lots of light poured into the room (from streetlamps etc) even in the middle of the night. We opened the window to make the room less stuffy but then got disturbed by the refuse collections immediately outside the building at 7am. Also there was lots of noise from traffic on the street outside at all hours. There was no en-suite, so the bathroom was shared with ~10 rooms, and there was no sink in the bedroom. Might have been fine, except on our floor there were two bathrooms: One for "men" and one without a gender label, which I took to be the women's bathroom but it seemed some men were using it as their first choice because it was closer to their bedrooms . The shower cubicle was made of see-through glass, so either you had to shower exposing yourself to anyone who came in to use the toilet/sink (potentially both genders) or could you lock the door which meant noone could use the sink or go to the toilet while you're in the shower. I was especially annoyed when I couldn't use the sink to clean my teeth because there were 2 BOYS who had locked the door on the women's bathroom to take a shower.

Minor gripes: The decor is shabby, and the place didn't really feel clean. Towels thin and a bit grubby.

I gave it 2 stars because of the cheap price, and the staff were very friendly. However, if you don't have a tight budget and want any degree of comfort from your stay - I really recommend staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loopy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Six months ago we spent a week at the sister hotel in Adlershof, much closer to the airport. However, this second Berolina Hotel was a pleasant surprise. Don't miss this good-for-money place, somewhat old fashioned, reasonably confortable and unbelievably unexpensive for the location, a few steps away from the Zoologischer Garten station (S-bahn and underground) and buses 100+200 (for a cheap touristic tour). Our two rooms were acceptably clean and simply furnished: no surprises, as we didn't expect frills nor whistles.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 219georgesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I've been in this hotel last weekend,
I have not a good impression in general because compared the price to the hotel rooms per night are very badly equipped, the wall paint is quality outdoor furniture and also maintenance needs , the hair dryer in the bathroom does not work and the internet wifi works some time, and finnaly I think too much to ask 10 euros for breakfast.
On the other hand, the staff greeted us in a way wonderful, giving us all information, and good idea was have a free coffe in the morning.
Anyway the hotel is located near metro station and too many shop around it.
I only have a bad impression of the structure hotel.
if I were to return to Berlin, I will return there only if all other hotels are unavailable

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Comfortable city hotel for exploring Berlin. Near the station of Zoology Garden where the buses number 100, 200. Tegel airport in half an hour. WiFi is not very good quality. In the hotel lobby computer and printer. Free fruit and coffee.There are a lot of shops famous KaDeWe is in the quarter. For the price of 24 euros is an excellent hotel. Nearby are many cafes are not expensive

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doe1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I needed a cheap place to stay while my husband was admitted to the hospital. They say you get what you pay for. The room was small (that's OK), but the shower was moldy & very slippery. The whole bathroom was the size of a regular bathtub!!! The bath towels were the size of hand towels, you couldn't get their free Wi-Fi in the room. Need I say more???

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This location was amazing! Only a few blocks from the main zoo station and right off the Kudam. We could walk to everything. There were delicious restaurants and bakerys within a 1-10 min walk. So many shops all around! the hotel was okay-had a computer for you to use. The staff was helpful and nice. They helped arrange a taxi to pick us up and bring us to the airport in the middle of the night which we were very thankful for. Not the nicest rooms-very simple. Shared a bathroom which was work cutting over $20 off a night. Always felt safe walking around, even at night. So much to do all around you if you stay here. If you are not picky about how nice/elegant your room is and wanna stay some where cheap, you should stay here. No bed bugs either. I will recommend going on the Fat Tire Bike Tour-it was absolutely AMAZING!! So much fun, so much great history, and the BEST way to see the city!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,974 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#69 of 635 in Berlin
4,838 reviews
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
588 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche

Address: Rankestr. 35, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #417 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $58 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berolina An Der Gedaechtniskirche Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing