We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, very well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche
Ranked #406 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Best thing about the hotel is location. Across from Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church (which is covered for renovations, so you can only see the disco like bell tower) and right down the road from the main train station (and the start of the fantastic 100 and 200 bus lines). Lots of shops and restaurants nearby, close to the zoo and Teirgarten Park.
Hotel had a paid breakfast, which was 10 euro a day p/p so did not go for. Lots of bakeries and other shops around to buy cheaper options.
Rooms small and clean, our room had a shower but shared toilet (no one else seemed to be using it though). Wireless internet available, but did not work in our room on level 4, so sat in lounge type area where internet much better (however, using a service that made you re-login every half an hour or so, very annoying!). No English language channels on TV. Our shower head was broken, and seemed to spray out more than down. Did mention to staff, but nothing done while we were there.
Desk staff nice, spoke English well and were happy to point out Laundromat etc.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missfreakykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 164 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

We loved sp much the central position of the hotel,the room was perfect clean and confortable the only thing that annoyed us was the larm of some other guests ( a group of students..) but that was not a foult fo the people that worked in the hotel...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The single best thing about this hotel is the location. Right across the street from the bombed out Kaiser church (which we did not get to see because it was covered for renovations) and the Europa Center. It is surrounded by restaurants and shopping. It is right next to the zoo and Tietergarten central park. We rented electric bikes at Europa center and saw all of the major cites during our week long stay. It was excellent to pop into the garden on one end of town and pop out close to our destination. You can even see a little bit of the zoo on bike trails through the park.

As for the hotel, they offer a pay breakfast which we did not opt for. The rooms are spartan in furnishings but adequate. The rooms were cleaned daily. The desk help spoke excellent English and were helpful and nice. There were two vending machines in the lobby. The room had one bar internet and the lobby had four bar internet, so I went to the lobby to use the internet which was spacious and decent. They offered German language newspapers in the lobby. The TV had exactly ZERO English language channels. I wish they would have had at least one as this is how I relax just before bed time. The bathroom was decent by European standards. The bed and bedding was fine but not luxury.

We had a court yard view, which was not particularly nice but it was quiet. There is no A/C which was fine for 6 of our 7 days at the hotel but on the last day, I sure wanted A/C or a fan. The room was hot and miserable -so I went to the lobby with my computer which was comfortable. At night, it cooled down and we were able to sleep comfortably.

Overall, for the price, this was a very good hotel. Basic. Well run. Excellent location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelynyeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Our stay at Hotel Berolina was pleasant. My brother and I stayed there for 5 days whilst attending ITB Berlin. The 2 girls who (wo)man the reception are friendly and always willing to help you with any issue – directions, restaurants etc.. The biggest USP for this place is the location. Located at the heart of Berlin in Kunfusterdamm, the hotel is a stones throw away from the Metro station (U+S Bahn), Bus station, Europa Centre and the Irish Pub J. The rooms are adequate for 2 people, though not overly spacious. The bathrooms are clean and dry with hot and cold water. However, they served the exact same menu for breakfast every day that we stayed there. It maybe because we are Indian, but the daily breakfast fare of Cold meats, pastries & bread were duly skipped by both of us.

Whilst I wouldn’t rate this hotel as the benchmark of luxury in Berlin, at 90 Euro a night, it certainly is a value proposition.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Small but very clean little hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Situated in the centre of the city with great access to all train bus and undergrounds

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186460Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

The hotel is within 5 minutes walking distance to the S+U Zoologischer Garten station and if you're lucky you may get a view of the Memorial Church right outside your window. The rooms and shared bath is very clean. Despite being a basic hotel, you get TV (all channels in German though), plenty of A/C outlets, wardrobe, etc..WiFi signal is only accessible from the 3rd floor (reception) where there's also a computer for guest use. Internet is hosted by a telco so you have to view some quick ads before using but no big issue. Internet speed is fast enough to get things done. Will definitely come back here for my next trip to Berlin!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gr2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Close to the U/S stations. Old building, with large, plain and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VStraneChudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,940 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,719 reviews
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#118 of 634 in Berlin
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#37 of 634 in Berlin
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche

Address: Rankestr. 35, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #406 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $55 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berolina Hotel an der Gedaechtniskirche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berolina An Der Gedaechtniskirche Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing