We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, but pricey”

Ristorante II Sorriso
Ranked #154 of 8,445 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Description: The Sorriso is a long-established restaurant on Berlin's Kurfürstendamm. The décor is lavish. In fine weather you can sit out on the terrace and enjoy the water garden and amphorae. There is plenty to look at inside the restaurant with wall paintings, paraphernalia and an impressive wine cabinet. The wine comes at the right temperature. The cuisine is fresh and authentic and is popular with tourists and aficionados of Italian food. If you have a sweet tooth why not try the chocolate soufflé with parfait of honey. The staff strive to give the guests a real treat. The chef can also come and cook in your home.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice food, but pricey”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Four of us visited when on a short city break. The service was good, and the place seemed very popular, it was packed on a midweek evening. Food was very good indeed, fish soup was excellent, and the pasta dishes we had were very good too. One downside was the minestrone soup, as mentioned in other reviews. It looked just like cabbage boiled in water, and tasted of very little, not at all like the usual Italian minestrone. Also, no good value house wine on offer, a carafe was Eu28, which was very pricey, the cheapest bottle was around the same. Overall, a pleasant evening, but at a price. The following night we all ate at another Italian nearby, and had food and wine equally as good, but for 2 thirds of the price

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garandjaninvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    138
    54
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pretentous staff”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The food was ok, but nothing special to write home about.
The staff were very pretentous.
One of the more expensive restaurants we went to.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodievalletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian taste ever ate”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Unforgettable pasta experience..best quality of pasta I ever ate ( I ate a lot of pasta in different countries including Italy). Excellent service, very tast food, mainly fish and pasta. The tomato soup with orange wad delicious

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague - Czech Republic
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, little pricey”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Me and my friend we had a chance to eat there the last week of October 2012.
The place, the interior and decor is very nice. I would say that it looks too posh or in other words when I came in, I expected something more.

Everyone was wearing a formal clothes so we felt bad in our denims. The restaurant has many places to sit and it was almost full on Friday evening.
Choice of the food was nice, taste was good as well but I expected fresh homemade pasta. We had 2 kinds of soups as starters, both were nice. Both pasta as main dish tasted great but it can be homemade pasta for this price. I had frutti di mare spaghetti and this meal really deserves fresh pasta.

Anyway the evening was nice, we received some veal patté as a pre-starter or couvert, it was free.
Unfortunatelly I would probably try some other italian restaurants in the future, as I think I can get better pasta for 20 - 25 euros.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adelka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not an Italian restaurant like the usual back in the UK, overly posh menu for my taste, and food wasn't great.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Like some other reviews have said, the menu had little on it you would associate with a UK Italian 'chain' restaurant - so it gives the impression it's trying to be posh - but sadly, the food didn't taste that good either. They also insisted I bought off the specials menu, even though the same meal was cheaper and available in the normal menu. Disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 30somethingHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante II Sorriso also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante II Sorriso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing