We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Pension Classic
Ranked #16 of 192 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is a very good Bed and Breakfast Pension, in a great location, close to nearly everything.
We stayed as a family in two rooms: One Double and One Triple. The rooms were spacious and clean. Having the main gate and the pension and the rooms keys, gave us the homey atmosphere. Breakfast had all the basic continental mix. The staff was polite and welcoming, but all of them speak only German, except a young man that is taking the shift on Friday. He was very welcoming and helpful in supplying us with maps and directions and brochures. The supermarket in the next building, is a high plus to the pension location. Having the underground station just few meters away is a high advantage.
My wife, who is intending to visit Berlin alone within the coming few months, felt very secured so she decided that definitely she will stay in Pension Classic.
Thanks for the staff, and thanks for the young man who speaks English, for helping us in catching our appointment in Helios-Klinikum Berlin, Klinikum Buch

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKandil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 156 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Nice b&b in a great location (Wittenbergplatz). Very easy to get to when you travel from the tegel airport. there is nothing to complain but still this will not be the best pension I've stayed. Room was big and clean but with no atmosphere, the same with a breakfast room - some music will make it more pleasent ! But breakfast was very good, fruits, cornflakes, fesh rolls, ham and cheese...
The is a wi fi in the rooms, staff is ok but do not speak english...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kotbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed two nights at Hotel-Pension Classic and once we found it had no real problems. The entrance stairs and the hotel itself are rather shabby but the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff pleasant enough.
The one real problem we had was finding the hotel on arrival in Berlin. The instructions for travel from the airport were fine but that was where the usefulness ended. Despite what the hotel staff will tell you the hotel is not opposite KaDeWa, in fact that is confusing information as KaDeWa fronts three streets and one side is actually on Wittenbergplatz - the same as the hotel. But the hotel is not opposite. If you catch the bus to outside KaDeWa you need to cross the dual carriageway street. You will walk pass the underground station as you cross the square. The hotel is on the square and is located between two cafes (as you will be advised by the hotel). You will also be told it is behind a large iron gate, well it is actually a security door (large and iron to be sure) so don't go looking for a gate, it will only confuse you as it did us. During daylight hours the hotel signage is visible but not at dusk or in the evening.
Breakfast is excellent value and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aqob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We just turned back from 8days trip in Berlin. We found the hotel via this site and would like to add our comments and recommendations. Maybe we will repeat already existing things but at least they will be fresh :)
Hotel staff is very polite, friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Continental breakfast is included into the price and includes rich assortment of yogurts, cheese, snags, pastes, butter, jams, fruits, juice, tea and coffee, cornflour, milk, eggs, bread, buns and cookies. Price for service that you receive is very good.
There is option for early check-in and first free breakfast.
At check-out day there is option for leaving your baggage at the hotel till 8PM without additional price.
We was with 3 years old child and our buggy we can put near the door without taking it up to the room at second floor. Hotel manager gave us chain with a lock that helped us not only at hotel but also outside, we was be able to leave buggy outside when came up to TV tower or Berlin Cathedral (Berliner Dom) :)
The hotel is located at the center of the town and there are many attractions around or really nearest of it:
1. Metro station is around 200 m from the hotel
2. 3 restaurants are located at the same building, the Italian one - Antica Rome - we found very tasty :)
3. good supermarket that works from 7AM till midnight is also located at the same building.
4. The biggest store KaDeWe is located around 300 m from the hotel.
5. Zoo is 1 station from the hotel or you can have a fun short walk (about 20 minutes) to it
6. Europa center is about 15 minutes of walk where you can found several restaurants, cafes and also Irish bar with live music from 9 PM.
7. Many large and small stores around
8. Market at Tuesday, Thursday and Friday where you can found fresh fruits, vegetables, flowers, cheese, snags, fish, cakes, bread, several option for taking a quick bite and even more (hot soup, grill chicken, etc.).
As was already written in the previous comments the following things were missing and will be good to add them:
1. shampoo
2. refrigerator (even small one)
3. kettle
To summaries all the above there is a great value of money that you pay for the good service and excellent location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Slavik_Yakushenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We just came back from a 4 day holiday in Berlin - a family of 5. I picked up this place based on the reviews on TA and i have to confirm the generally good opinions on this place: a good place for familiy holiday. The location is ideal, just nearby the Wittenbergplats Metro station (which enables you to easily commute from and to the airport - just take the Airport Express Train all the way to Zoologicher Garten Station and then change to the line U2 direction Pankow - the first stop is Wittenbergplats - and you can do all this using the Berlin Pass covering the AB and C zones). The rooms are spacious and clean, and the place is very quiet. The breakfast buffet is ok, more on the salt than on the sweet side (which is in line with out habits - people that prefer a sweet breakfast might be a little bit disappointed). The hotel staff has been friendly to us and made all necessary arrangements for our late arrival (the reception is manned till 8 pm). Very good value for money and a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I also just returned on June 11th from a trip in Germany and I also stayed in the Hotel Pension Classic when I was in Berlin. The hotel itself is located in a difficult spot to find, a large black steel gate crunched in between an Italian eatery and a small Grocery store. The rooms are of course old and not very clean. There was dust everywhere and the door locks were confusing. But most disturbing is the fact that one of the hotel staff members stole my $ 300.00 digital camera from my locked room. This type of criminal element was everywhere in this particular area. I was extremely angered by the lack of concern regarding this theft by the hotel manager. Her attitude was very defensive, and she never once offered an apology. I will never stay there again! Don't let yourselves be the next victim!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jonathan35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have just returned from a great trip to Berlin, we booked this hotel after good comments, we had no idea of the different districts, but after visiting most of them we definitely made the right choice.
The hotel itself is in a great location, bars restaurants all on the doorstep, underground directly opposite, the market on a Tues and Thursday was a bonus.
The hotel itself is in a lovely old building, and as mentioned no lift, but no problem, only two flights of stairs, rooms were spacious and modern, we had two big windows facing out onto the fountain and square, with great views of KaDeWe, breakfast had no hot option but more than made up for it with the huge choice of spreads, cereals fruit meats cheese etc.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#87 of 633 in Berlin
280 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hommage a Magritte
Hommage a Magritte
#1 of 192 in Berlin
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Pension Peters
Pension Peters
#7 of 192 in Berlin
308 reviews
Hotel-Pension Bregenz
#11 of 192 in Berlin
357 reviews
Schoneberg
ArtHotel Connection
ArtHotel Connection
#8 of 192 in Berlin
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Pension Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Classic

Address: Wittenbergplatz 5 - 6, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range: $74 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Pension Classic 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Pension Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing