We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chilled atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aufsturz

Aufsturz
Ranked #503 of 7,695 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great chilled atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Aufsturz quickly became our favourite hangout while enjoying a long weekend in Berlin- and not simply because it was next door to the hotel we were staying at! The relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a late breakfast or lunchtime chit chat with friends and of course bier!

The beer selection is exemplary with a host of brands and flavours from across Germany and all corners of the globe. My friend who isn't a big drinker particularly liked the fruity tastes of a Ghanaian beer they serve called Dju Dju that comes in mango and passion fruit flavours.

But Aufsturz isn't just good for drinking, the quality of the food is impressive as well. In fact we went to fancier places in the area and didn't enjoy our meal as much. Dishes I enjoyed included 'The Berlin Platter' (for two) and a scrumptious pasta dish with blue vein cheese and spinach dressing. The platters was excellent value for money, both in taste and portion size. It's unlikely you'll clear your plate.

Aufsturz is definitely worth checking out if you're staying in the area or passing through and looking for a quintessentially German fuss-free meal, served up by friendly and helpful staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AbzTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    89
    23
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great bar downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Been here a few times when visiting berlin with both a group of lads and as couples and always enjoyed it. They have some great beers, serve nice food at a good price and all in a relaxed atmosphere. We have just sat there for hours playing cards and a enjoying some good beer and they have never had a problem. It does tend to get busy in the evening though if you want a table.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biot, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“"Kneipe" (restaurant and bar) like in the old Berlin times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very nice atmosphere, good food for little money, nice and friendly, normal Berlin people go there (not tourists)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank garantido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Don't go here just for drinks!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

6 friends arrived for a few beers to quench our thirst after a very enjoyable 3 hour walking tour of Berlin. This was about 5 in the evening. After 2 beers each, and we were going to have one last before leaving to meet other friends at our hotel, I was flabergasted when the barman said he would not serve us another round because A. We had not reserved our table.
B. We were not eating.
This was in a bar that had about 4 tables occupied. We were representatives of 4 different nationalities, but unfortunately we were English speaking. I doubt they would have treated their own with the same disdain! Good luck with this business model! Why bother promoting 120 beers, cut it down to 2!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Order the Berliner Platz für 2!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Aufsturz is a great Pub in the Hackescher Markt Area, that is, Berlin downtown. They offer a menu with a great variety of beers of all sorts of countries. When we go there, we like to order the Berliner Platz für 2 to go with our beers (usually Augustiner :)) and it is a great dish. But if you want just to drink a beer, it is also a cool place to go. The service is really nice as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aufsturz also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Aufsturz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing