We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger heaven”
Review of The Bird

The Bird
Ranked #90 of 8,513 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $58
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Description: The Bird is a New York style bar and steakhouse, serving undoubtedly Berlin's best steaks and burgers as well as some other stuff.Sauces, dressings, everything is made fresh daily from scratch.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Burger heaven”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you like burgers, than The Bird is definitely a place to go in Berlin. If you like your burger served with snoop dogg et co. in the (loud) background, then book immediately. And this is the only thing which sucks big time. You need to make a reservation days ahead and don't bother knocking on their doors, hoping you will be served, just because you traveled half of the world and eating their burger is the last thing you want to do in this lifetime-they will not accept you, unless there is a free space (which there's none). The bartender is monitoring your beer level and when approaching to minimum, he'll just give you a nod and deliver another one, perfection, what else to say. ps. place opens at 6 and reservation can be made by email.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanaJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,026
    425
    160
    69
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best burgers in Germany, I think not!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Me and my wife are considered by most of our friends as mad food snobs. We'll often save up for a trip to a Michelin starred restaurant for a night out. We'd never, ever go to a fast food burger joint. When we said to people that we were heading for Berlin, two unconnected people, one a trustworthy restaurateur and another, a work colleague, recommended The Bird. I thought there must be something in this.... so we went, foolishly without a reservation. How busy could it be on a Wednesday night??? Actually very! We had the option of waiting around 20 minutes or so for a space at the bar, have a beer whilst waiting, which we took. Within 10 minutes they had found us a table, brought us another beer and shortly afterwards, we were eating burgers and fries of a quality I wouldn't have previously imagined existed. Seriously brilliant food, produced by seriously committed fanatics, with superb service to boot and which wont bust your budget. These aren't the best burgers in Germany, they're the best burgers in Europe if not the world!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamesbarr1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious burgers”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

When you enter the restaurant as if you're in America doesn't feel like you're in Berlin. But it's worth the visit! Delicious burgers and fries were super tasty.. I had the one with blue cheese dressing and it was just super! The service was very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chitra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing burgers!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We enjoyed the Bird very much! The burgers and fries were super tasty. The place is cool but still the service was friendly and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Deserves all the praise it gets!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We actually visited this restaurant based of it's reviews on Trip Advisor. And we were not disappointed.

We reserved a table (which I think is a must) and when we got there at 6pm when it opened there's a huge queue outside!

Seating is shared with others most of the time - that's how popular it is, but this doesn't affect the experience. It's not the place for a romantic meal!

It's a no frills experience. Large bottles of ketchup and mustard and a roll of kitchen roll on the table - but that adds to the ambience of the place.

The menu itself is hilariously written - the owners have a great sense of humour. We ordered a burger each and wow....seriously one of the best burgers I've had in my life. Not to mention the chips which were heavenly.

If you find yourself in Berlin, go here. You will not regret it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dregan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bird also viewed

 

Been to The Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing