We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bird > everything else.”
Review of The Bird

The Bird
Ranked #90 of 8,445 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $56
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Description: The Bird is a New York style bar and steakhouse, serving undoubtedly Berlin's best steaks and burgers as well as some other stuff.Sauces, dressings, everything is made fresh daily from scratch.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Bird > everything else.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

If you visit Berlin and don't go here at least once you're off your head. I've been 8 times in 4 (4 day) trips. And although that sounds obsessive, it probably is.

If all burgers were Steven Seagal movies, then the bird burgers would be Under Siege 1 & 2 combined.

Go here, get a burger, get fat and get tipsy. In fact, get drunk, the staff have great chat too.

Be careful when ordering napalm wings though. Despite them tasting great, I couldn't speak for about an hour after eating 2 of them. Immasculting to say the least!

As for value, I don't know how you can argue with 13/14€ for the meal you get. Forget the fact that its that money for a burger, it's not just a burger. It's the quality of everything on the (huge) plate that makes it good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Wavecave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,008
    419
    159
    68
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Prepare for a food coma!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The food at The Bird is INCREDIBLY tasty but I think for the price, it's not entirely worth it (approx. €14 per burger) considering you walk out feeling like your insides are going into meltdown.

I would highly recommend eating here for the experience but after the first time the second time is much the same and is frankly quite disappointing. It's incredibly noisy inside (with an awful choice of music).

The Dr. Zion burger is AMAZING but as I said, once is definitely enough. Twice okay, three times and I can't stand the sight of another burger.

I also don't think it's a choice of many born and bred Berliners as it's over the top and proudly American so if you're looking for a place where the locals dine perhaps look elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yugsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Cool Crowd...”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We ate The Bird during a short stay in Berlin.

It was the perfect spot for our family. Everyone found something on the menu to their taste (although not necessarily to my pocket with my son selecting the €40 steak!), the service was brisk but good ( they're pretty keen to turn those tables!), the drinks flowed and the eclectic soundtrack was great.

Would definitely recommend The Bird and would go back again with a shadow of a doubt if I happened to find myself in Berlin again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank copperbeechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh and busy”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very fresh and very busy!! This burger joint has deserved its reputation, as true tasty burgers are hard to come by in Berlin. The burgers here are very fresh, sloppy, pink inside and spilling out of a tiny bun. In other words, extremely messy but supremely delicious as juices run down your forearms. The fries are homemade and plentiful. I recommend cold, plentiful beer to wash the deliciousness down.

It's also crowded and noisy, so expect to book 1+ weeks ahead or prepare to wait. That's the biggest downfall, actually, the fact that you can't hear yourself think as you eat.

Warning: the chicken wings are also great but they are very HOT! Only order the HOT or NAPALM option if you are a serious chili masocist!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisagoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cool Place!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Bird can be found in the north-east of Berlin. So not close to the city center, and a 5 minutes walk from the nearest U Bahn station, it is very much worth the trip. Reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I can confirm their descriptions; they're true descriptions of The Bird's quality and coolness.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theodeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bird also viewed

 

Been to The Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing