We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bird

The Bird
Ranked #53 of 7,779 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $56
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Description: The Bird is a New York style bar and steakhouse, serving undoubtedly Berlin's best steaks and burgers as well as some other stuff.Sauces, dressings, everything is made fresh daily from scratch.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great Burgers, Great Atmosphere, Great Everything! There were six of us, we did not wait long, and everything was amazing! Highly recommended ended. Only thing, it would be good if they excepted card!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank felix4434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    355
    131
    57
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Burger Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I should start by saying that I'm definitely not the world's biggest burger fan. I love organic, non-processed food that's made from scratch and burgers don't really make it on to my list in terms of things I want to eat.

HOWEVER, this was an amazing dinner. The burger was absolutely steak quality meat and there was none of the feeling of having eaten 'junk' food. It transpires that they use the best meat (that would end up as steaks anywhere else) and grind it themselves. You really can tell, there was no greasy feeling and the quality of the meat was absolutely evident. They're clearly passionate about food and even though it's not the stereotypical 'fine dining' I wish other places cared this much about what they were serving. Bonus, it's cheap as can be.

A must visit in Berlin, make a reservation, it's crazy busy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great well made American style hamburger for seriously big appetites.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice big hamburgers if not too much meat for my taste and tasty french fries. Friendly staff in a busy atmosphere. Flippin' burger, Stockholm, still the king though ;).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Rocked our world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

ok, lets be honest, this isn't fine dining, it isn't michelin starred, it isnt even German. It's American all the way ! We had read all of the reviews and were curious as to what all the fuss was. In short it was brilliant. Awesome burgers, chilli fries, hot wings, cold coke and beer and the best cheesecake i have ever eaten, without question.

our tips,
1. dont go if you arent after a big greazy americana meal
2. starve yourself all day, MASSIVE portion size
3. use your hands

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blairegourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“burgers, beer, ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Bird was amazing. Our burgers were juicy and cooked to perfection, we ate the whole thing easily even though they were gigantic. The fixings and fries were also of very good quality-- this place doesn't skimp on the details, and it's well priced. The decor is great too, kind of a German twist on a typical brew pub that you might find in any large American city (exposed brick walls; plenty of room for eating at the bar; plus a catchy playlist-- the Beach Boys!). The Bird is worth a visit-- it's between two U-Bahn stations, probably a ten-minute walk from either of them. The surrounding neighborhood looked like it had some other decent stuff too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bird also viewed

 

Been to The Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing