We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make Reservations and order the fries!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bird

The Bird
Ranked #59 of 7,709 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $56
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Description: The Bird is a New York style bar and steakhouse, serving undoubtedly Berlin's best steaks and burgers as well as some other stuff.Sauces, dressings, everything is made fresh daily from scratch.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
328 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Make Reservations and order the fries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Before you go here, DEFINITELY make reservations. They speak English, and it's very convenient to email the restaurant for free time slots, or of course to call. I'd make the reservations a week or so in advance. Even if it is a rainy Monday night and you think you'll be in luck, you won't (because I made that mistake already). It's not a huge place, so they stay packed every night until closing.

The restaurant is very lively also, so if you're looking for a quiet place I'd go early. The bar gets pretty busy and loud at night.

The burgers are quite thick, and good. It's definitely not fast food- they taste like the good burgers my dad makes on the grill at home. While I love the burgers, the fries are my favorite thing here- so fresh, crispy, and delicious. With mayonnaise, I could eat a gallon. And the portions are huge, so a gallon is actually not too much of an exaggeration! I will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CrankySCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    343
    131
    57
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Heavenly. not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I read about this place in Tripadvisor and was impressed with the ranking - 22nd in Berlin.
After reading the menu online I just had to go there and try for myself...

I waited until Sunday as this is the only day when Flohmarkt am Mauerpark (Flea market) is open.
Started with the market as 'The Bird' is on the other side and was almost tempted by the food the market has to offer, not spoiling my appetite in the market was the best decision ever.
From the market its 500 meters and your'e there.

The place simply looks great, the place where you would want to sit with friends for a few hours over good food.
At the beginning I had a dilemma, I usually opt for the house specialty when its my first time in a new place but it has too much toppings (bacon, eggs, etc.) and according to them: "enough grease to kill a donkey" so I went for the 'healthy' Ghetto Burger which is their grilled burger with american cheese.
I always go with medium, they offer medium rare, If you think medium is too rare for you then you shouldn't be eating burgers...

Long story short, the amazing platter arrived and the juices start flowing...
Very big burger (250g) with melted cheese which was a sight for sore eyes.
It's as if every ingredient and item on the plate was placed where the almighty intended it to be.
The burger itself just melts in your mouth and the fries complement it very well but not out staging it.
Together with 0.5L of Krombacher beer this is probably one of the best meals I have ever had.

I am not a religious person, but I almost became one today...

You will eat there, you must eat there!

P.S. cheese cake was ok, definitely not a must.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david_amir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Burger time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful American Bar next to the Mauer park. We arrived there quite proved for the night before and they put us back on our feet with delicious food and very kind service. The burger is a must to try and if you've got extra money in your pocket you could venture for a steak that is delicious too! Wash it all with your favourite Berlin beer. Thanks again to all the staff with special mention to Robin!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“You'll struggle to find a better burger...anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate at The Bird last night with two friends while on a city break in Berlin, off the back of a recommendation from another friend...and we weren't let down!

If you're wondering why such an unpretentious venue sits in the top 20 Berlin restaurants on TripAdvisor it comes down to this...a simply fantastic combination of friendly service, great atmosphere, fantastic beer and quality food.

A testament to just how good The Bird is comes in the fact that when we arrived at around 9pm on a Sunday evening, the place was absolutely heaving...and continued to be so all night. Unfortunately we couldn't get at table inside, so braved the chilly evening and ate outside after being warmly welcomed by the staff...and boy was it worth it. AMAZING burgers, better than any I've ever eaten, coupled with skin-on fries and quality German beer. The chicken wings were a great side too...check out the tongue-in-cheek comment in the menu about why they no longer refer to them as buffalo wings!

A word of advice...come here with an appetite, the portions are large to say the least! Also, if you're the kind of person looking for more formal dining and you're not prepared to simply get stuck in, don't come here...you won't like it, and being honest, you're definitely not the target customer for this place (the menu will even tell you as such!).

Overall...just go. Even if you're staying the other side of the city it's well worth the trip...the world needs more venues like this!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Chili Cheese Fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went for supper with family. Make sure you make reservations as the place was packed when we left. Also a meal here can take awhile so expect to stay for 90 + minutes.

Our burgers were good ! Really loved the chili cheese fries though. Fantastic job, great service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hali2cuba2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bird also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to The Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing