We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent local pub/restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oderquelle

Oderquelle
Ranked #122 of 8,002 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent local pub/restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had very good meal here; typical German/Berlin food [dumplings, blood sausage - similar to black pudding; delicious roasted duck and quite good Maultaschen]. Big portions and good value for money. Only one slight negative and that is that it would be good to see something more child friendly - eg a pasta dish on the menu; Maultaschen were the only things we could find which are pasta-like. However, maybe the Oderquelle isn't trying to appeal to that market, which is fine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zimmerman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    90
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, neighbourhood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Nothing pretentious about this place, was comfortably busy and convivial on a Thursday night, good sized portions of 'german' food - only say that for want of a better description, since its not obviously anything else. Doesn't have a conventional starter - main - dessert structure, more a load of salads and maincourses. Well prepared, excellent bread.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I didn't know Flammkuche could taste so good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was in a hurry so I just ordered the Flammkuchen which was just an appetizer, but was also something the Lonely Planet recommended. I was so surprised that it actually tasted so good! I have new respect for Flammekuchen after eating one at this place.

Plus, the size of the Flammkuchen was pretty big! It was the size of one medium pizza, surprising considering it is just the "appetizer". Definitely meant for 2 people (or one very fat man) in my opinion.

Service was friendly and helpful. Plus this Oderquelle is so close to the flea market at the Mauer Park! A perfect place to have a meal after shopping at the Flohmarkt.

We only had the Flammkuchen, which is IMO I feel a good enough reason to visit this nice restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShawnKuek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lacks finesse”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Not expensive and wine list was brief with inexpensive choices but the food and its presentation lacked care and flavour. If in the area, choose Les Valseuses instead.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
346 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Great new German Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Wonderful restaurant for new German cuisine. I was not expecting the quality here, and was very much impressed. It is not inexpensive, but well worth the money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oderquelle also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Oderquelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing