We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good selection of sushi and excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ishin Tey

Ishin Tey
Ranked #991 of 7,695 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Starnberg, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good selection of sushi and excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a friend who lives in Berlin so we decided to visit it on a recent trip there. Upon entry, you get a bit turned off with the cafeteria-like decor, seating style and noise. However, the sushi selection is quite extensive for the average sushi aficionado. The quality is good but not outstanding and they have some good menu deals which make for very good value for money.

In my experience, there ae very few really good sushi restaurants anywhere in Germany and this one is good but not great. The service is also a bit lacking!

Would definitely go again when I'm next in Berlin.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yhelmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    72
    11
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for a quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Pack'em'in and sell-it-cheap approach to sushi, and for a quick lunch it's great. Service is good, helped with plentiful green tea, and the prices will be very hard to beat. Yes, it lacks tablecloths, and feels like a school dining room at times, but we really enjoyed our visit which filled us with tasty sushi within a short space of time. The queue out the door was a sign of this place's success.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DHogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not for sushi lovers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I came here because it was recommended by Timeout, it was close to my hotel, and I wanted a quick bite before hitting the sites. Upon walking into the restaurant, I knew it was a mistake. Big cafeteria like setting, filled with tourists, and laminated menus. But I didn't have the energy to go searching for another restaurant. Decided to play it safe - just ordered a spicy tuna roll and miso soup. The tuna roll was odd and the soup bland. If you're a sushi lover who is used to San Francisco or LA standards, then don't bother. It's basically what you would get at Safeway. I guess if you're not used to real quality sushi, then this place is probably ok.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for a cheap lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is good for a quick lunch, if you don't mind a busy place and maybe having to share tables. My German or Japanese is not good but since I only wanted some "regular" sushi it was easy enough to point at the picture on the menu. The sushi was very good for the price, and the tea was included. I would have eaten here again if I'd discovered it before my second last day in Berlin.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
146 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cheap, fresh, but still ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We come here every other month, since Schlossstrasse is not really far from where we live and, it's relatively cheap. Especially if you come Wed or Sat (all day long happy hour tarifs for menues) or any other day before 16.00 (happy hour...). The cooks at the bar and the waitresses are very nice and busy at the same time. There's always a crowd and hard to find more than 2 empty seats within 15 minutes. There's free tea. The atmo is simple but adequate. Anyway, when I left yesterday, I had this feeling of having had enough of fish. Something which usually never happens to me in high standard Japanese places. I am sure it's directly linked to the fact, that more and more Ishin adapts to the German taste: they add mayonaise in their spicy tuna maki, squeeze a dash of mayo over the grilled salmon nigiri etc. I just don't like that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HajoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ishin Tey also viewed

 

Been to Ishin Tey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing