We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little Japanese”
Review of Makoto

Makoto
Ranked #2,545 of 8,388 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice little Japanese”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Quick, pleasant service & reasonable prices.
Nice atmosphere & clearly a popular place as was quite busy.
No sushi on the menu but plenty of other dishes to choose from.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicjhannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    61
    34
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ramen Noodles in the trendy Mitte quarter”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Makoto serves classic Japanese noodle bar dishes in a cozy block of the Mitte district. It is worth a visit when the craving for Ramen hits, and nothing else will do. Makoto is all about the food, but the long, shared tables by the sidewalk were cozy on the night we had dinner there. Service was prompt and attentive, and we were very happy with the many variations of Ramen offered, from light to strong flavors. We had just arrived in Berlin, and the hot noodles with a tall Kirin beer were the perfect welcome for two tired travelers. We liked it so much that although we were in town for a few days and wanted to try different places, we went back! Very recommendable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PabloPompo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very good alternative for Berlin”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Makoto is my go-to Japanese restaurant whenever i am in Berlin. The area (Mitte) is very cool and trendy and the staff at Makoto are all japanese. For one, they don't serve sushi (seriously getting tired of 99% of Japanese restaurants abroad serving suhi!) and have the typical menu you would find in a Japanese restaurant (even though it's a mix of ramen-ya-san and normal restaurant).
They have ramen - even Tonkotsu ramen (my favorite kind, which you don't usually find in every ramen-ya-san in Japan), domburi-mono - bowl dish with food served on rice (even oyako-don!), curry, omuraisu and the usual side (edamame, kimuchi etc).

Funny how people complain about the food not being like in Japan and the staff not being friendly. Well, news flash: Berlin is not in Japan! For a restaurant outside of Japan i find it very good and typical enough. As for the staff, they always change everytime i go there (i'm in Berlin 5 to 6 times per year) and they are all on a working holiday (wahori) visa so ovbiously they don't care much about the service they are providing you.

As mentioned by other reviewers, it is usually packed around lunch time and the place is quite small so i would suggest not going during peak hour.

I have noticed that over the years the quality is going down but then again, it all depends on the chef at the time of my visit.

All in all, i still recommend it if you like real japanese food. Berlin is not Düsseldorf for Japanese food but this is still a very good alternative that i recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brieselang
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic food in an authentic atmosphere”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This restaurant serves Japanese "every day food" so there is nothing extremely fancy about it which is actually one reason why I liked it so much.
I have been to Japan several times before and I went to this restaurant with a Japanese friend who recommended it to me.

The atmosphere in this restaurant is a lot like in most of the noodle bars in Japan (just more space) and the food really tastes like the food served in Japan which is not that common in Germany.
I had some Katsudon that was served in the Nagoya style with a miso sauce and my friend had a Ramen with salad which was quite good too.
The staff is very friendly too and mostly Japanese.

My conclusion is that I will go there again and I will recommend it to everyone who asks me where they can find a restaurant that serves authentic Japanese dishes.
The other nice thing is that the prices are quite affordable.

So to sum things up good staff, great food, reasonable prices, nice atmosphere and good location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HibouBrieselang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nothing special about this place but in this price range you can't expect something spectacular. It's totally okay for what it is.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kumaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makoto also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Makoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing