We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makoto

Makoto
Ranked #2,616 of 7,999 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
Sofia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had been to that place twice before and loved the food, so during my last visit to Berlin thought it would be a good idea to give it a try again. Overall, I found the food ok, though not as delicious as I remember it from previous times - but this may well be just the distance of time. They have a good selection of clearly marked vegetarian dishes in all parts of the menu. The gyoza were very tasty too. Service was lacking in the politeness department but this may not be a sufficient deterrent. I will probably be back there again next time - but probably because I will be staying in the area again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pantaleia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    55
    29
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
261 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Ehhhh...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Came to Germany and only ate Asian cuisine. This was my least favorite of the three places we tried. The gyoza was good, but the Yakisoba was just fair. Nothing special. The ramen was good according to the table, but I don't think anyone was blown away.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carzim59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“最低・おつりをごまかしてきた//poor・ Did they cheat the change?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

お昼に食べに行きました。
店は清潔といい難く、店員の接客態度もよくない。
麺は細麺のみ、おまけに茹ですぎ。
会計では「わざとか?」と疑う 

『10-ユーロの”ごまかし”の行為』

チップにしてもこの金額はないし、サービス料を
要求するような接客態度ではない。
二度と行かないし、人にも勧めないお店です。

I went to eat for lunch.
Store is difficult to say with clean, the clerk are not good
(unkind・not-friendly).
There are only thin noodles, and noodles boiled just a bonus.
I suspect "knowingly?" in accounting

" deception on Euro 10"

No have value to pay a service cahrge, and they are not worth getting
"the service charge".
I will never go there, and never recommend to people this "MAKOTO".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank NekoNeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nasty non japanese waiter”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Ramen is good ! other meal wasn't good at all. And waiter with nasty hair cut and tattoo saving food isn't very good feeling......................yak and he has no good manners and service which is not very japanese.
I love to eat Japanese çoz it's light and tasty and also the their attitude is beautiful,normally.
i wouldn't go back there again unless they hire cute japanese girl.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jake k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“日本のラーメンとはかけ離れている/It's really too far form real Japanese Rame(noodle with soup)!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

醤油、塩,味噌 味スープでこの麺は無いでしょ!! このストレート細麺は九州豚骨ラーメンにしか合いません。 またディナーセットで注文した餃子(5~6個)は皮が固くとても完食出来ず残しました。
Texture of noodle does not fit to the soup of their soya souce taste, salt taste and soya bean paste taste at all. their noodle will be fit only to "Kyushyu Ramen"which is tipical noodle soup at Kyushyu area(south island of Japan).
Skin of Gyoza(dumpling) was too hard compare with Japanese standard which must be improved.
I really want to tell them that Noodle, soup and Gyoza's skin should be improved to avoid misunderstanding of real Japanese taste.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank poya0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makoto also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Makoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing