We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food BUT horrible personnel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Ritrovo

Il Ritrovo
Ranked #481 of 8,236 Restaurants in Berlin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Friedrichshain
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food BUT horrible personnel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

While being a truly italian restaurant with very good dishes at a really fair price (I tried the pizza vegetariana and the tagliatelle with melanzane and mozzarella), it was also one of the worst experience I ever had with the staff, as an italian in a foreign country. I was addressed with a "e questa cosa vuole?" while stepping inside for refilling my bottle of water, and the explanation was that I should have waited to be served outside instead because they were "changing turns", when they realized I was talking their language. I felt almost insulted and I felt bad seeing how impoliteness is so extensively imported by my fellow citizens.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pulpcochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    101
    31
    19
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good true pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Very minimalistic place. We have seen it crowded few days ago. Today we know why. Very good real itakian pizza. Lot s of reservations. So it s not easy to get a table in busy hours. Pizza was delicios and really cheap.

Helpful?
Thank Hussaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
413 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Crowded, noisy but excellent food ay excellent prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We were looking around the area for somewhere to eat - it was 9:30 at night. This place was packed so we decided it was a good sign. The waiters found us a table straight away. It was very noisy and needed to talk loudly so that we can hear each other. I had the Texana pizza - the hottest pizza I had anywhere. I like my food hot so for me it was heaven. The pasta with ragu sauce was excellent and so were the prices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moniaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was recommended to us by a local tour guide in Berlin. It was really busy, however the service wasn't great and food was average. It wasn't expensive, however wish we had spent more and gone somewhere else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
298 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and incredible value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a super meal here last night. Pizzas from wood oven superb. Pasta excellent also. Incredible value. Shared starters, 7 mains, 10 beers, wine and mineral water €103. Would go back.

Helpful?
Thank bambergfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Ritrovo also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Il Ritrovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing