We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #17 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at the Adina Checkpoint Charly for the 3. time in October and we are never disappointed. The one-bedroom apartment is well spaced so you never feel boxed in like in other hotel rooms. The fully equipped kitchenette and the washer/dryer are a great plus if you are on a long stay. Supermarket, restaurants, the wonderful "Gendarmenmarkt" with an immense choice of restaurants are all in walking distance nearby. Potsdamer Platz is about a 15 min. walk away.
The staff are super friendly and always make you feel welcome. The food in the restaurant is excellent and Australien inspired. Good wine selection too.
The only drawback is the internet charge, which is quite high and should come free.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Monika,
Thank you so much for taking the time and posting a Trip Advisor Review. The Team and I are thrilled with your positive feedback!

Our return guests are a good measurement of satisfaction to our services and product and reading your feedback I can only say that I am delighted that you find the service and Team fantastic!

The Team and I always enjoy accommodating you at the Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie and we are looking forward seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,526 - 1,532 of 3,020 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

We rented a one bedroom apartment which was just perfect for our 6 day stay in Berlin. Clean, quiet and spacious. There was a good grocery store just a block away so that breakfast in was easy to do. It is nice to have restaurant meals a choice rather than a necessity. The view wasn't great (a city block of razed land on which development appears to have stalled for some time), but that was irrelevant. We weren't there to look out the window! Clean and quiet is far more important. The bed was very good and additional pillows provided immediately when we asked for them. Having a washer/dryer in the suite was very nice and easy to use -- even for us non German speakers. Luckily we had used a Senseo coffee machine before and so knew how to operate it. We used the gym/spa facility. That is the longest pool I've seen in an hotel and very cold -- so perfect for laps. The restaurant was very good. There is also a very nice Italian restaurant just up the street. All in all, we will look for an Adina Apartment Hotel in future for this kind of city-holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tansay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Tansay,
thank you very much for taking your time to provide us with your valued feedback. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your 6 day stay with us and that the hotel´s location, our spacious and fully equipped apartments and our restaurant and lifestyle facilites assisted in making your stay a memorable one. I will share your feedback with the entire team and we woud love to welcome you back to Adina Checkpoint Charlie or to one of our other Adina hotels in Europe or Australia in the near future.
Warm regards from Berlin,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently had a city break in Berlin and stayed at the Adina Checkpoint Charlie.
We had a one bedroom apartment which was ideal - having the kitchen facilities gave us the extra flexibility to have a small breakfast before an early start. The rooms were clean and well presented with plenty of space. The leisure facilities, though small, were good. We were the only people in the swimming pool / sauna area when we used them.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
There is a very useful Lidl and bakery nearby for purchasing breakfast items and any cakes / pastries for little treats.
We would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Musicaltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Musicaltourist,

Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to your stay with us. It was great to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive feedback about our rooms, our team and our leisure facilities. Our fully equipped apartments are perfect for self-catering and provide a “home away from home” feeling.

Thank you again for your great feedback and upon your next visit from the UK we would be looking forward welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I recently stayed at this fantastic Apartment Hotel for 3 weeks and I was very impressed. From the moment I arrived I was greeted by the very friendly staff. The staff were so helpful the whole time I was there. I would like to especially mention Claudia, Fanny, Jessi, Ilda, Fransiska, Stephan, Andrea, Florian, Michel...and I hope I haven't missed anyone? I had a studio apartment on the ground floor and it was excellent. The hotel is conveniently located in the Mitte district of Berlin, which is close to everything and the transport(U Bahn station Spittelmarkt). I will be travelling again to Berlin next year(2014) in July and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berlin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear berlin52,
Thank you for your time and your candid Trip Advisor Posting.
It was great speaking to you the other day and we really appreciate the time you took to acknowledge our Team with in particular mentioning them by name. We strive to exceed expectations and I am truly happy you experienced this. I am sure the team will enjoy hearing to be mentioned in your review. We all would like to thank you for being our guest for such a long time, it was our pleasure having you staying with us!
Take care, all the best and we are already looking forward to next summer. You can contact us anytime direct for your next booking request.
Warm regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a classic apart hotel. We took a 2 roomed suite, which slept 2 adults and 2 kids easily. The rooms are recently decorated and very quiet (our room was at the back of the hotel room 119). The rooms are fitted with a kitchen and a washer and dryer so you can even wash your clothes. There is a decent restaurant and bar with room service so if you are working late you won;t get stuck. In the basement there is a small but decent gym and a narrow but long pool (it's usual in that it's made of stainless steel). Location is good for "mitte' though the north/south U Bhan is cut at the moment which reduces the number of connections. On the minor negatives : No iPod docking station, the TV screens are very small given the size of the rooms, there is no DVD player and you can't connect up an external player via the HDMI port due to the way they have set up the Pay TV.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear martin m,
Thank you for your time and posting on Trip Advisor in relation to your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that in particular the location was mentioned in your review. We are very centrally located with all main attractions in close proximity.

Also, I was happy to read that you and your family found our rooms nice and spacious and that our leisure facilities assisted in making your stay a pleasant one.

I do appreciate your comments in regards to the in-room entertainment. I am happy to advise that a soft refurb with new TV´s will take place soon. We do have DVD players for hire and it is possible to have them connectd to the current TV´s.

Thank you again for your positive feedback in regards to your recent stay with us and we are looking forward to be welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next visit.

Warm regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in October to visit Berlin and some of the main tourist attractions. The apartment isnt far from checkpoint charlie and also in a quiet location. The apartment was fantastic with everything we could ever need in it. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. There was a Lidl supermarket around the corner and we got some things for breakfast there and some beers for the fridge. We had a couple of drinks in the bar one evening when it was happy hour. The bar was nice and the food looked good that was being served, but we decided we would eat out. Only gripe would be that the wifi was charged for 3.50 euro for 3 hours, but you couldnt log out so unless you were doing 3 hours continuous surfing, you would lose it. I normally choose accommodation with free wifi but the location swayed me on this occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluehills68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear bluehills68,
Thank you for your great Trip Advisor posting in relation to your recent stay with us.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in full with us and in particular found the location great and our apartments modern, fresh and clean and the fridge handy for self-catering..
As you have mentioned, the internet time is only used when connected and log out is also possible by switching the entire internet connection off. For your next stay we are very happy to assist if this problem occurs again.
Dear bluehills68, thank you again for your positive feedback and we are looking forward to be welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next visit.
Warm regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This Apart - Hotel offers just the right situation for a long weekend. Large comfortable bed, decent sitting area in room, and a small, but sufficient kitchen. We had a studio, I understand the larger apartments have full kitchens.
Conveniently close to Spittlemarkt U Bahn it is very easy to reach all of the key parts of Berlin.
The overall impression was of a clean comfortable and well run hotel. We had to ask for some additional crockery and pillows, but they were provided straight away and with absolutely no problem.
We liked the security that required you to use your key card to operate the lift. Not an infallible way of keeping out undesirable visitors, but it does help.
Two niggles that need to be sorted out:
first:- 19 euros is very expensive for breakfast. It does fall to 15Euros if you book the night before, but even that is way too much. The much better work around is to buy some ground coffee and use the cafetiere provided, visiting the excellent bakery just over the road for croissants at 90cents each.
second:- you have to pay for wifi in the room. Ok its free in the lobby and its not prohibitive - 3 Euros 50 for three hours or less per hour for longer, but I get increasingly frustrated that tiny cafes in North Vietnam can provide free wifi and smart expensive European hotels insist on charging.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear rayw,
Thank you for your posting on Trip Advisor; we appreciate the time taken sharing your experience with your fellow travellers.
I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our studio room catered to your needs. As you have mentioned, our One Bedroom apartments come with a separate bedroom, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. Also I was pleased to read you liked the hotel’s atmosphere and the friendliness of the team.
Thank you also for your comments regarding the internet. Please be assured that our prices are competitive to market standards in Germany and that we do offer free Wifi in the lobby. In the rooms the internet time is only used when you are connected and you can have as many devices connected at one time. Just make sure you turn the Internet off when you don't need it.
Thank you again for staying with us and looking forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay in Berlin.
Warm regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
1,918 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 633 in Berlin
521 reviews
Louisa's Place
#4 of 633 in Berlin
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Krausenstrasse 35 - 36, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#18 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $107 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adina Apartment Hotel Checkpoint Charlie opend in December 2007 in the heart of the historic center of Berlin. Checkpoint Charlie, famous Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarket are just a few steps away. The hotel offers studios and apartments, a restaurant and a spacious wellness area with pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Toga Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing