We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, cant wait to stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #17 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in march, we loved it, staff very friendly and helpful, great location and our apartment was very big. Lovely places to eat close by and it was a two minute walk to Checkpoint Charlie

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear dgalgirl,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your positive comment, especially on the friendliness of our team. I will pass it onto them.

We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back soon,
Claudia Anderle & Team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,624 - 1,630 of 3,020 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a one bedroom apartment at this hotel. It was very well appointed, clean and spacious. On our journey from the main railway station to the hotel, I was concerned the location might be too far away from the main attractions but this was not the case at all. Checkpoint Charlie is a short walk, as is the subway. I especially appreciated the washer and dryer...we were towards the end of a busy multi country trip and we needed to wash!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaynebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Jaynebro,

Thank you for your excellent review. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed the location and our spacious and clean rooms.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie in the near future. Or perhaps during your next multi-country trip in one of our Adinas in Copenhagen, Budapest, Australia or New Zealand!
Kind regards,
Claudia Anderle & Team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel was excellent. It was stylish, clean, reasonably priced and had great facilities. Not in the thick of a touristy area but easy walking distance of Checkpoint Charlie, shops and underground.

Our apartment was a pleasant surprise, roomier than expected, well designed and decorated with everything you could need. There is a Lidl supermarket just across the road if you want to buy food in, we did this for breakfast as the price seemed a bit steep at 19 euros each but we did eat in the hotel restaurant one evening and it was very nice.

Staff were all helpful, pleasant and knowledgeable, recommended good places to eat and to see. The only one negative was very slow bar service on one occasion but it was only the once!

Room Tip: Our room looked onto the inner courtyard and the view was lovely, beautiful art deco tiled walls and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obecalp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear obecalp1,

Thank you for your great Trip Advisor posting in relation to your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in full with us and in particular found the location great and our apartments modern, fresh and clean. I agree with you that our location is superb and near to most main Berlin attractions and shopping districts.

In addition I would like to thank you for your kind words about our Team and I will assure this is passed onto them.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we are looking forward to be welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next visit. One tip for your next stay: pre- book the breakfast and receive a worthwhile discount!

Kind regards,
Claudia Anderle & Team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here with my 17 year old son - it was difficult to find an apartment with two bathrooms but this was ideal - there were two double bedrooms with an ensuite and a bathroom. It was very new, large areas of glass and a balcony - unfortunately looking out over a building site but that is normal for Berlin! Cooking more than a simple breakfast is difficult as there is very little cooking equipment which is a pity as there is an excellent hob and oven and dishwasher and we would have liked to have done more cooking. Also there is limited cleaning materials provided and we ended up buying cleaner, kitchen roll etc of which we only used a little. There is a Lidl opposite for essentials and a delicatessan the local Department Store. The only criticism is that there are very few decent places to eat out - it is ideally placed for some sites but a good taxi ride away from the eating areas. Good pool and spa area but remember to get your card working the lift before the doors close otherwise you get stuck as we did more than once!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JVL1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear JVL1960,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed our spacious Two Bedroom Apartment – with a size of 65 square meters, 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms there is enough space for everybody!
During your next visit, we are happy to give you recommendations about restaurants in the neighborhood close to Nikolaiviertel and Gendarmenmarkt.
Dear JVL1960, thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you soon back at Adina!
Kind regards,
Claudia Anderle & Team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From first arriving at Adina we couldn't help but be impressed. Stylish, friendly, clean and spacious. We had a lovely quiet one-bed apartment. The bathroom had a washer and drier. The lounge and kitchenette were really well specified. The staff were amazingly helpful and sorted out any little niggles immediately. We're going to make our next citybreak at a place with an Adina!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Claire S,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie.

The team is glad that you enjoyed your stay, the spacious One Bedroom Apartment equipped with everything you need to feel “home away from home” - and most of all the friendliness of our team.

We would like to thank you for your support as we look forward to welcoming you again in Berlin, or in one of our other hotels in Hamburg, Frankfurt, Copenhagen, Budapest and all across Australia!

Take care,
Claudia Anderle & Team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

"The coldest March and April in Berlin in 50/100/120 years" were told, the variation depending upon who volunteered the information. Anyway it was a lot colder than a very cold London. Everywhere in Berlin we found blocks of frozen snow on pavements and frozen grassy areas and gardens which added to the chill factor of a bitter easterly wind.

Not that this mattered at the Adina Apartment Hotel. Efficiently insulated and more than adequately heated (although not overdone and well ventilated) it became a welcome haven for us after trudging the frozen streets of this intriguing city.

First surprise was entering our apartment and discovering we had a free upgrade (no mention at the friendly and efficient check-in) from a studio apartment to a one bedroom. It is vast, especially by European city centre standards. Tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished for two people. Big comfy sofa for stretching out. handy desk and chair and very sturdy dining table which would need a forklift truck to move.

Full size kitchen appliances with oven, hotplate, microwave, dishwasher and fridge. A full laundry is hidden cleverly in the bathroom. Nice big steel bath tub with shower over. Two big flatscreen tvs, one in the sitting room and one in the bedroom. We didn't have any noise problems from other guests and so perhaps they were quiet or perhaps the sound insulation is as efficient as the thermal insulation.

Very clean and warm smallish swimming pool in the basement along with a sauna.

We tried the onsite restaurant for one supper. I'd say it's adequate and quite typical of a hotel restaurant of this class and location. That is to say: bit overpriced compared to a non hotel restaurant; food's ok but won't have any wow factor; 'international' menu with a nod to the locale. Worth a try if you don't want to go out. We didn't try the breakfasts on offer (€19 or €15 if you pre-book) as, for us, it's very pricey and we could prepare breakfast in our own kitchen. For all we know it might set you up for most of the remainder of the day and so MIGHT be worth it.

The only downside, although it turned out not to be a problem due to another circumstance, is the lack of cooking equipment supplied. Despite all the lovely, virtually unused, appliances, there was only one large saucepan and a large glass bowl. Plenty of cooking spoons, knives, stirring and scraping thingies and whatnots. But very little in which to actually cook anything.

The other circumstance which cancelled this as a problem is the lack of shops in the immediate neighbourhood where food can be bought. Yes, there is a Lidl a few yards away where you can find milk, basic bread and some other staples but very little else other than tins of sauerkraut type meals - plenty of petfood though! Another supermarket a bit further off had a very little more choice. I imagine there is excellent food shopping in central Berlin but we could not find it near the Adina, even asking the friendly reception staff. We decided to eat out, apart from breakfast, and this suited us well as good food for any budget is easily found.

Some other reviewers seem to have a problem with the location of Adina Checkpoint Charlie. It's in the former East sector. One persons 'scary, horrible, tenement block' is anothers 'fascinating example of how people lived and continue to live in the unified Berlin'. There is an enormous site adjacent to the hotel where a building has recently been reduced to rubble. This will, no doubt, become building site for a long time to come. It's the same all over Berlin which will continue to rebuild for years to come. The area around the hotel feels safe and secure to us - even in the wee small hours, thanks to the U-bhan running all night at week ends. That romantic walk down Under der Linden had to be postponed due to: a) der linden ain't going to blossom until the freezing weather stops and b) the overground pipeworks draining the swamp on which Berlin sits dominates Under der Linden currently.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank fusspot_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear fusspot_11

Thank you very much for your detailed review. For us it is a great compliment to read that we were able to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Make sure you visit us again in the summer time – to see Berlin and it’s parks in blossom and to indulge and relax in our lovely inner courtyard. And if you need more kitchen equipment, just ask our lovely Front Desk Team.

Dear fusspot_11, thank you again for choosing to stay at Adina Checkpoint Charlie.

All the best,
Claudia Anderle & Team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Super holiday for husbands 50th. Staff welcoming, apartment lovely and close to underground station, plus good leisure facilities in the hotel. I would really recommend it for all ages! We took other trip advisor people's tips and bought a five day railcard at Schonefeld airport in the newsagents - worked out about £30 each but had unlimited travel everywhere for the five days including a very good trip to Potsdam. The public transport system is very efficient and was also surprised at the good value of eating out at nearby restaurants, plus the local LIDL near to the hotel very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverleybrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear beverleybrittain,

Thank you very much for staying at Adina Checkpoint Charlie. Your comment shows how important Tripadvisor is for travelers and it is great that you have taken your time to share your experiences. We are glad that you and your husband had a wonderful time and we hope to see you soon!

Best regards,
Claudia Anderle & Team
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
1,918 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 633 in Berlin
521 reviews
Louisa's Place
#4 of 633 in Berlin
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Krausenstrasse 35 - 36, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#18 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $107 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adina Apartment Hotel Checkpoint Charlie opend in December 2007 in the heart of the historic center of Berlin. Checkpoint Charlie, famous Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarket are just a few steps away. The hotel offers studios and apartments, a restaurant and a spacious wellness area with pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Toga Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing