We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Ranked #59 of 350 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Expected better.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Viewing the photos advertised before hand i expected decent furniture....when we got to our room it was cheap furniture which looked like it was going to collapse...the table wasnt even proper wood and the beds were very unsturdy, the matresses are very uncomfortable and the pillow very thin...the bathroom was clean but the bedroom wasnt as clean as it could have been...we found rubbish under the beds and food on the floor on our arrival....the staff were very kind and helpful...the food was terrible. the first night we had what was supposed to be chicken nuggets, the chicken was still pink and the mash was just a sloppy mess, the veg was cold and the salad was going browny coloured....the breakfast wasnt much better...all from cans and the bread was extremely dry....no fresh fruit available....the views are good but the rooms get extremely hot and have no way of cooling them down apart from one window which does not open fully...overall the hotel is basic and is supposed to be 'modern'...they need to invest in some air conditioning and stop using food from a can...it may be cheaper but it really does not taste good....

Room Tip: Bigger room either at the end of the corridor or the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    178
    87
    29
    25
See reviews for
61
78
39
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

It's clean and functional. Everything about it is just about average. Cheap, functional furniture, cheap breakfast, average staff, etc. It's right on top of the metro station which is nice. Perfect for college kids looking to save money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wornoutshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed just one night in Meininger and although the price was little high we were appreciate to stay. Staff are helpful and amiable. One thing i am not thankful is kids. There was a children group and they were really making a serious noise. If they were warned by their parent or management i think not just me would be grateful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taner M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

It's a mix between youth hostel and hotel. We had a double room, quite small but functional and clean. The service is friendly and helpful. Compared to other hotels I checked online, the price (100 Euro / twin with bathroom) is reasonable.

The location is phantastic:
- The subway station is just a few steps away,
- there are a lot of good cafes and restaurants around,
- the Hackescher Markt (go there, it's worth) as a 20 minutes walk away (a lot of shops and restaurants on the way).

I will definitely stay at this place again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had a chance to extend a business trip b y a day, so I stayed here. it is exactly what it should be - cheap, clean, and friendly. Also a lot smarter than you might expect!

Breakfast was not expensive, and was filling. Overall I have to recommend it. If you want somewhere practical to stay (not romantic!) then you could do a lot worse!

Reception staff are also their strongest point, very helpful, friendly, and brilliant language skills :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on a uni trip with fellow classmates. We had a dorm for 4 with bunk beds. The room was very small, and nowhere for 4 suitcases which we kept tripping over! But for a short stay when you are out all day and only need a place to sleep and shower, it is great!
There is free wifi, a fabulous buffet breakfast, and the staff are nice and friendly and more than happy to provide helpful advice. The location is right next to the metro which makes it easy to get around. The rooms are clean and everything you would expect for a short stay on a budget. Recommended for students, backpackers, even families!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#352 of 634 in Berlin
101 reviews
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#49 of 634 in Berlin
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#212 of 634 in Berlin
139 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#283 of 634 in Berlin
215 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Kastanienhof
Hotel Kastanienhof
#141 of 634 in Berlin
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Address: Schoenhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 350 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz (formerly "Prenzlauer Berg") is located on Schonhauser Allee by subway station Senefelderplatz. The modern hotel is only one and a half kilometres from Alexanderplatz and not even two to the Museum Island. You will find a great variety of pubs, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep - exactly the right place for fans of the youthful side of Berlin! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing