We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely breakfast!”

House of Small Wonder
Ranked #153 of 10,045 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Mitte (Borough)
Description: Established in 2014. From Brooklyn to Berlin: House of Small Wonder has a second branch in Berlin-Mitte In 2010, in Williamsburg, New York, Motoko Watanabe and Shaul Margulies opened the House of Small Wonder (HOSW), which soon became a popular place for breakfast, brunch and pastries. How best to describe it? In short: Urban greenhouse meets American dishes with a Japanese twist. Their second branch in Berlin is located in the quiet Johannisstrasse, just off the bustling Friedrichstrasse, and has a very similar warm, light atmosphere. Lots of wood, lots of plants.
Reviewed February 13, 2018

This is a cool place with cool decor and cool staff! The breakfast was incredibly tasty, I especially loved the potato gratin and the ham and cheese croissant with eggs. The atmosphere is relaxed and I'd recommend this breakfast spot to anyone visiting Berlin. Worth a visit!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jessicamcg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 753 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

Long time to wait in front of the location. No WiFi, dirty dishes, friendly service and food was soso. Prices are cheap.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank alfonso m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018

This tiny little gem is hidden away. The first time I visited, I walked straight passed the door and didn't realise. Inside is a spiral staircase winding through a rainforest to a beautiful little restaurant. The staff are wonderful and so friendly. The brunch blew me away - absolutely delicious!! I have had now both the Croque Madame and the Goats Cheese Avocado sandwich - honestly some of most tasty food I have ever had. Not at all pricey either! A really gem!! I'll be back for sure. Just beware - you can't reserve a table, and there are long waits for a table sometimes - but it is 100% worth it!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank megant386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

I understand the place is very cool, it looks very different and kind of special atmosphere down the stairs.. but I go restaurants to have good food and here it's not so good, even if the idea of fusion between Asian and western cuisine is quite remarkable .. just adding Parmesan splitter on your bowl doesn't make you a Fusion kitchen revolutionary.. I didn't come out very satisfied by the lunch, It might be another tourist trap..

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank chefferdish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

Waiting in a queue is fine (especially as the place itself is stunning) as long as the food is good... Nice fresh coffee and a tasty mimosa but ‘Biscuit Benedict’ was cold and underwhelming, my boyfriend’s food was bland and we had to ask for some soy sauce and hot sauce (sorry guys...). Really good menu itself but boring food. Great place to look at, friendly staff - just a shame the food didn’t live up to the hype :(

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank GreatestEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Small Wonder also viewed

 

Been to House of Small Wonder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing