We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical 1 star restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Vau

Restaurant Vau
Ranked #272 of 7,602 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Central European, German, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A typical 1 star restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is what I call a typical 1 star restaurant. It has style, it has a huge amount of staff both in the restaurant and in the kitchen and it comes with a price. The staff was very attentive and even provided me the possibility to browse through the chef's enormous cook book whilst waiting for my next course.
I went for the tasting menu with wine and was not disappointed, although in my opinion Berlin is a city where you can have the same quality of food and an even better atmosphere for less than half the price.
One point of attention: a small card with the tasting menu was provided as a memento to anyone who ordered it - but not if you didn't order in German.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    101
    50
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not good enough for a one-star restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

the food was good but not very good (benchmark is 1star michelin), the service was good but not very good and the service was good but not very good. atmosphere average at best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unforgetable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Excellent food, tastes and smeels marvelous! Excellent staff and good ambient, expensive but very worth it. Dinner is more expensive than lunch and sometimes the same dishes are available.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mayrametal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“NEW YEAR EVE 2013”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

First VAU-Berlin dinner in our life and . . . last :(
We have prepared ourselves for nice evening for celebrating New Year Eve.
Therefore, we have reserve two months before a place for two people at VAU-Berlin.
We have chosen the New Year Eve Menu with the recommended wines.
Unfortunately, the food was very simple and not testy. Some of the wines were flat, without a body and tannins (DUORO 2007, PORTUGAL) and some of them did not feet the dishes at all (PINOT NOIR LIKORWEIN 1908).
At some point we have asked to live the place without continuing the dinner. We left back to our hotel to celebrate with Champagne and sausages.
Therefore, if you love gourmet food and wine we can't recommend you on VAU-Berlin and if you may make our mistake you may say WOW !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EliG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“One of the best in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you go to Berlin, make sure you spend one of your dinners at Vau. It is a festival of tastes, textures and flavours. We had the scallops 2 ways, the duck ballottine as staters, then the halibut and the veal 2 ways as main, and finished with rage chocolate and the nougat desserts. All recommended. 200 euros per person including wine. But it is worth it.

Helpful?
Thank HongkongInvictus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Vau also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Vau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing