We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Really good Vietnamese food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon and More

Saigon and More
Ranked #16 of 8,002 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Schoneberg
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really good Vietnamese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Booked a table at this restaurant based on Tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. The meal was really enjoyable and the service was good. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to try Vietnamese food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kidja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    242
    48
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Creative and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant has some very creative and tasty food. The restaurant was run by passionate staff. We even received some friendly advice on how to correctly eat a dish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yanjeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The restaurant was really cosy, the ambience was great! The owner is this really friendly guy who makes you feel right at home. You can tell most of their patrons are locals, and loyal! The food was good, but the experience was better!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skr28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“TEN STAR EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Saigon and More is a cozy little Vietnamese restaurant a few blocks from the hotel. The food is absolutely phenomenal. The service is the best. The owner is a friendly man from Turkey who has two Vietnamese chefs to cook the authentic meals. He is super friendly and warm. He spent so much time sitting at our table chatting with us and making us laugh. I have never had this type of service before. He made our experience so pleasant. I would rate the service TEN stars if I could!

For appetizers, I love the rice paper rolls with basil, mint, rice noodles, eggs, carrots, sprouts and prawns. They were served with a warm and spicy peanut sauce, which was fresh and tasty. I also love the fried spring rolls with glass noodles, chicken, mushrooms and vegetables. Both of these rolls are unique and flavorful.

For dinner, my favorite dish is the Com chien - roasted rice. This is served with chicken, egg, Chinese cabbage, broccoli, sprouts, mint, and chives with a traditional Vietnamese sauce. This dish is filled with so many different flavors. It is one of the most unique dishes I have ever had.

The Bun bo xao xa - chicken on rice noodles is good too if you like noodles. The chicken is marinated with lemon grass and red curry and served on rice noodles, fresh salad and sprouts. It is seasoned with Nuoc mam sauce as well as roasted peanuts, onions, basil and mint.

Overall, I would rate the restaurant ten star if it was possible. I had an absolutely superb experience at Saigon and more!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikip7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good, but over rated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The first courses were excellent. Recommended to take the combination. The main courses were ok, nothing too special. We gave up desserts because there was nothing interesting. The owner is really nice, but we had to get up and ask for dessert menu after we finished. Overall - a nice restaurant if you're in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyal-r83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon and More also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Saigon and More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing