We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, Just Wow”
Review of Pasternak

Pasternak
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 7/17
8:00 PM
OR
Ranked #70 of 10,086 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Russian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Pankow (Borough)
Description: The Pasternak Restaurant Named after Nobel literature prize-winning writer Boris Pastenak, the author of Doctor Zhivago, PASTERNAK Restaurant is located in the heart of Berlin. PASTERNAK Restaurant is proud to call Berlin locality of Prenzlauer Berg its home and count important landmarks such as "Dicke Hermann" ("Thick Hermann"), the first water tower in Berlin, Rykestrasse Synagogue, Germany's largest synagogue built in 1904, and a remarkable Zeiss-Großplanetarium opened in 1987 among its neighbors. PASTERNAK Restaurant specialty is Russian and Jewish cuisine. PASTERNAK Restaurant serves its own unique house-brewed beer. PASTERNAK Restaurant brings to life the atmosphere of an authentic Russian dining room of the late 19th century, further enhanced by the live nightly piano music. A comfortable outdoor terrace with a view of the "Thick Hermann" water tower completes the picture.
Reviewed May 24, 2019 via mobile

What a brunch meal. Brought my family here. Great location, outdoor seating on a morning of beautiful weather. Service was solid but the food was exceptional. Parents had the lamb dumplings which were phenomenal, gifiltte fish, excellent and salmon which was great. Wife had the braised beef, succulent. I had the eggs with chicken and latke "buns" and bacon. Excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant and would happily come again.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank jgworldismine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 818 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2019

On Sunday we passed by the restaurant which was full and lots of people eating brunch outside - the food looked good, so we asked for a table and luckily got one inside. After ordering there was a bit of a wait as they were running a very popular place. The atmosphere was buzzing and the waiter who served us was entertaining. The wait was certainly worth it. When our meal came it was nicely presented, well prepared, and very tasty. Would certainly visit again when in Berlin

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

We were taken to this restaurant on a weekend break by a friend who lives nearby. So glad we made the effort to go.

We had no idea what to expect from a Russian breakfast but were blown away by the quality and flavour of our dishes.

I had a fish based meal, with salmon, prawn and some caviar alongside scrambled eggs, a mini omelette and avocado. It didn't look massive when it arrived but it was a perfect breakfast portion. There was also bread and butter to accompany the food. All of this was washed down with a tasty coffee.

This made s lovely change from our hotel breakfast and it was also a lovely location to sit out and watch the locals doing their morning activities.

I would definitely go back!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 600nickyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

I was very pleased with our visit to Pasternak Restaurant!!! The dishes are delicious and to my surprise very very beautiful. The atmosphere is cosy, and the outside terrace is one of the best in Berlin. And shoutout to our waiter Eduard, such a professional and nice guy!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank slavamiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

Really loved this restaurant. Recommend the borscht. The food is copious and the service is friendly. Will definitely go back.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Wombat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasternak also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Pasternak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing