We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plate-sized schnitzels”

Ottenthal Restaurant & Weinhandlung
Ranked #43 of 8,583 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: Austrian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Description: Arthur Schneller, the proprietor, combines both the traditional and contemporary cuisine of Austria with a mixture of simplicity and finesse. Amongst our specialities one can also find a variety of vegetarian dishes that have the Austrian nuance of sweet and picant. We cook, braise and bake all dishes recent with preferably local and/or organic products!
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Plate-sized schnitzels”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We ate here on a Sunday night and reserved a table, which was necessary: the place was packed. Despite that the service was good. We opted for the standard menu, and the schnitzels didn't disappoint: huge, but thin and nicely battered (not greasy).
The wines are mostly Austrian, so there's some unusual choices (can be a bit pricy if you're on a budget). The only niggle we had was that the waiters kept filling the glasses even after just a few sips: felt a bit pushy. Overall a good experience though, and dessert was delicious too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LJN1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    206
    42
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stylish and tasty”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well-visited restaurant with very knowledgable friendly staff. Visited saturday night and the place was crowded. Two nice touches. Was running late, and the restaurant phoned and then held the reservation. Staff recommended excellent wines throughout, but a rare thing was a clear recommendation of a significantly cheaper wine than considered by us. In general, the wines were spot on, and not expensive.

Asparagus for starters. Excellent. Cooked to perfection. Had the wiener schnitzel for main course - however this is not your average schnitzel. Battered flatter than any piece of meat I've ever had, but still very tender. My personal taste on schnitzels is for some texture in the meat and a more discrete crisp. The desserts were rather anonymous. Overall though, this a fine place to get a meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaetano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
828 reviews
470 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
“Salzburg`s cuisine in the heart of Berlin”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you like quite heavy food, mainly with meat, poultry and noodles, there is good address. All the dishes are prepared from the high quality products, many of them from the eco-farms. We were not very much impressed by the menu and the taste of dishes, but the full restaurant of the people, was confirming the attractiveness of this place. Rather expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fine Dining in Berlin”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

After a week of river cruising, we needed to seriously reconnect with good food and individually prepared plates and we hit the jackpot at Ottenthal in Berlin. We did not have reservations, but arrived early (6pm) on a Thursday and had no trouble getting a table. Service was excellent -- we had a young man who knew about the dishes and had tasted much of the wine list -- so when we asked for direction on a reasonably priced wine (approx. $45), he made a great selection for us. The food was outstanding -- my husband had a creamy cheese appetizer that was swoon-worthy and he chose the venison for the main course (also excellent) while I chose the Wienerschnitzel, which was VERY good. If you are in Berlin, this is a restaurant to seek out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueW53-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Romantic meal for two”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Visited Ottenthal for my partners birthday having seen the restaurant mentioned in 'Rough Guide to Berlin'. The restaurant is nicely located on Kantstrasse in what was west Berlin. Ambience is that of a decent restaurant,white table cloths and waiting staff attired in black and white. Its small but nicely laid out. Staff, friendly, professional and speak good English (amongst no doubt a range of other languages). Its not the largest menu (little fish) but the quality is first class, local and organic. We chose the set 3 course menu at 28 euros and were delighted with what was put in front of us, the pumpkin seed soup was a delight and the strudel excellent. Wine was a little pricey at 32 euros for a Riesling but was served nicely chilled and was of good quality. Would recommend if you are in this neck of the woods.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ottenthal Restaurant & Weinhandlung also viewed

 

Been to Ottenthal Restaurant & Weinhandlung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing