We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and service”
Review of Marjellchen

Marjellchen
Ranked #24 of 8,388 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to this place having read the reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't dissapointed.

Food was superb. East Prussian cruisine with good variety and some of those German staples there too.

We had Russian potato soup and chanterelle soup to start and pork schnitzel as main courses. All superb and well accompanied by the suggested Austrian red wine.

Our hosts were friendly and attentive.

Wonderful. Must try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trueblue2x07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,409
    561
    114
    43
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Nsw
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The whole experience was wonderful. The food was great with our group trying hare, duck, pork knuckle and lamb and each giving it the highest rating. And there was no problem with looking after our youngest member (<2yo). We would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Berlin. They say the manager is a character, well i don't know about that. She was just very welcoming and the service was excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OATEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If your face doesn't fit”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Walked for a fair distance for this place due to trip advisor reviews, turned up and the man had many tables free, he asked if we had a reservation which we explained we hadn't but as it was Monday night we felt would be fine he had at least 6 tables free but stated no tables!!! I think it's a case of face fits and nationality very disappointed!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slingy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mashpee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I can't believe it could be this good”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The reviews said it was good. I expected good. I can't ever remember eating potatoes before and saying yum. They were wonderful. The fried smoiked eel in cream sauce was the best smoked eel I've ever eaten, The salad, with a fabulous dressing, was eaten to trhe last shred. My daughter had roast duck, sweet-sour red cabbage and dumplings. The duck was as good as any I've ever eaten and I've had a lot of roast duck in many different cuisines.The red cabbage ( rotkohl ) was better than any I've ever had and the dumplings ( knoedel. ) were also as good as any I've ever had and we have eaten a lot of very good dumplings. The ambiance was warm and comfortable, service cheerful and efficient and I can't think of a single detraction except maybe the WC window was open a bit too much

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, WA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good service, and peaceful atmosphere”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had reservations for dinner at Marjellchen Restaurant not far from our hotel. Our table was outside on the sidewalk on a very quiet, peaceful, and somewhat dark street. The food was advertised as “old German” and I had a goulash of stag and boar pieces in a thick, flavorful gravy with some greens and a couple of potato dumplings. My wife had a very large roast duck with red cabbage (with a cold pickled taste) and cranberry sauce. The owners, man and wife, provided excellent service and we loved the atmosphere.

For dessert we shared “Grandmother’s Pancake” with cream cheese, a few pieces of strawberries, and whipping cream. Our judgment was that the pancake was hard and overall the dessert mediocre but the rest of the food very good. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EuropeAnnually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marjellchen also viewed

 

Been to Marjellchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing