We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prusian food”
Review of Marjellchen

Marjellchen
Ranked #24 of 8,388 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great prusian food”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is one of the best restaurant we had during our Germany trip. The restaurant specializes in East Prussian food. We had the beet soup (excellent!), calf liver (the liver was cooked perfectly and was really delicious), and pork neck (the pork was really tender and the bun remind me of Chinese bun). Highly recommend this when you visit Berlin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Live2TravelWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,409
    561
    114
    43
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Food Heaven in a Berlin side street”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is such a a great place. The food is just amazing, a real link with the past. The staff are lovely (but very busy!) and the place is small so be sure be to book you table well in advance. . English spoken so no problems booking or ordering when you get there. The owner is a living legend and will come and tease you if you leave anything on your plate! The servings are large so try sharing starters and / or having starters in lieu of a main because then you can to try out more many unique dishes on offer. Its one of those rare places you could just keep going back to night after night. There is a good wine list - ask for their recommendations or just enjoy the draught beer. Make sure you go - enjoy the food, be nice to the waitresses and have a few jokes with the owner, you'll have a such a great time!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank totankayotanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic posh dinner out”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a lovely dinner at Marjellchen. Pink table clothes, pink candles and an owner who served our wine for us from an ice bucket all created an elegant evening. The food was great; hare & cherries, MEGA meatballs, pork knuckle .... and then apple dumplings and hot cherries. Delicious! 120E for 4 people.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheChildFamilyOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Retroavantgardism Delight - Home cooking at its best”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

9 Mommsenstrasse can be easily missed, as it absconds behind the curtains peeping out that it’s a restaurant. Walking into the restaurant, is like walking into a time warp – the roaring 1930’s. What a gem! We were greeted by the owner, she was friendly and even though we did not have a reservation she was more than happy to seat us snugly by the window. There is an English menu which eloquently shows off traditionally German / Prussian cuisine. My wife ordered the pickle beef with dumplings and cabbage. I opted for the pork chop stuffed with dates and apples. Whilst waiting for the food, we sat back took the moment in, the Parisian Chanson playing in the background, the candle light dancing and the dated décor all gave it a unique feel of the early 1930’s, we felt we were in one of the classic black and white movies.
The owner even gave us some books to flick through as we waited for our food. Our eyes walking through the imagery history of Berlin before and after the war made us feel lucky that we are time in history where Western Europe is not at war. Our food arrived and without exaggeration my stuffed pork chop took up most of my plate. It was stuffed with prunes and apple slices, class combination which delivered on taste. The dumplings will light and complimented the sauce that was served over the pork. The stuffing can be overpowering with sweetness, but I do a have a sweet tooth which tickled my taste buds. My wife’s pickle beef was tender and had the right balance of sharpness counter with the sweetness of the jus. The cabbage cooked to perfection, my wife could not have enough of. The meal was washed down with one of Germany’s fine beer and unfortunately because of the gargantuan portions we had no room for dessert.
On the whole, it might not be a pretty looking plate of food that will woo you into the aphrodisiac of haute cuisine. It is home cooking on a plate - large, warm, tasty, leaving you fully satisfied especially when the bill comes in at a modest price for what you eat.

In short: You want a true taste of German cooking in an environment which will take you back to 1930’s, uncomplicated and copious amount of home cooking, this will hit the spot.

Don’t miss: Side order of the cabbage

Pass on: Circumvent the wine list go straight for the beer.

Suggestion: Book in advance!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aubelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A must when in Berlin”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a must when in Berlin! Come hungry as the servings are huge! This place served me the best pork knuckles ever (and I've been all over Germany)! We had no reservation but when we told them we were only visiting the city, they had kindly allowed us to have our dinner by the bar table. Very friendly people, from the owner, bartender and even the local guests! So happy we found this place in Berlin!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marjellchen also viewed

 

Been to Marjellchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing