We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maharadscha 2 - CLOSED

Maharadscha 2
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Visited here with a friend after checking reviews on this site. We both love indian food and are used to the British variety of not quite authentic but nevertheless delicious dishes. Arriving here we were greeted with a somewhat empty restaurant, but the food menu was excellent.

The manager picked up on our accents and sat down to talk to us in both excellent English and German, and we spent the meal being regaled with equally fantastic food and stories (For an example, on asking for food "as hot as you can possibly make it" we were supplied an anecdote regarding a previous diner asking the same, then complaining on it being too spicy to be edible and, after refusing a free fresh meal, giving a terrible review.). The manager was a fine man, who was steadfast that putting love into the treatment of food, diners, and the staff was ever more important than cutting corners for the easiest profits, and I can see this as a reason for the long-term success of this fine restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    18
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kleve, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Super evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

A lovely evening we had at this Indian restaurant. Every dish had a seperate colour and flavours. We loved Butter chicken and Lam curry very much. After entering we had a warm welcome from the staff and were headed to a nice table in the corner. Though it was very busy still every thing happened on time. The service was perfect and friendly. The owner is a very helpful guy and he explained us the menu and helped us in ordering our food. You can order your food mild, medium or spicy. Since we like spicy we asked for spicy lamb curry and it was delicious. The proportion of price and quality is also very good. The portions were good and more than sufficient for us. One of the best Indian restaurants I know at this moment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian experience in Berlin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

After roaming around and having dinners in different restaurants and different types of kitchens, we tried this Indian restaurant. Perfect food, nicely balanced spices and super friendly service were the characterstics of this restaurant. My wife loved the bread called Batoorey (a bread full of steam and like ball in the shape). The Butter Chicken and Chick peas were the best of all the dishes. The host is a very pleasant personality who advised us to chose our dishes. You can order hot and mild dishes on your choice. We had two meals on the same day and would like to go there again if in Berlin. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lustoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Nothing Mentionable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I found them unprofessional in terms of service quality. The atmosphere of the restaurant is not up to date. we had to wait for food longer than expected. We found some unusual sting on salat which isn't common in restaurant. However, I'm not sure that was bad really bad smell rotten things.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Authentic Northern Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Awesome Indian food, great value for money. We even got a complimentary shot of their selfmade mango liqueur!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonnordvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharadscha 2 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing