We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only my Mother can cook better!”

Indisches Restaurant Maharadscha
Ranked #45 of 8,443 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Schoneberg
Description: We are open every day except of Wednesdays from 1st April 2016 from 17.00 to 23.00 hours. In September 2014 Restaurant Maharadscha has completed 30 years. We want to say a large thank you to all our guests for their faith in us. If you want to experience authentic Indian food you are here at the right address. We serve chicken, lamb, duck, fish and other seafood dishes but we do have a variety for our vegetarian and vegan guests as well. Here you can forget your prejudices against Indian food since you decide whether you want your dish mild, good-seasoned, spicy or very spicy. One of the owners is always at your side to make your visit memorable. Even though we have a large number of dishes, every meal is been prepared freshly after your order is placed. The restaurant is located very central. You can get to Maharadscha in Schoneberg easily in 5-10 minutes from the underground station Wittenbergplatz (Kudamm with KaDeWe). So tourists can easily travel to the restaurants.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Only my Mother can cook better!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Visited this hidden gem on our last night in Berlin.
So glad I did! It had been 3 nights in Berlin and we were craving for some authentic spices, the restaurant was recommended by a few of the locals. Myself and 2 more colleagues decided to take the short trip from central Berlin.
The restaurant was busy on Saturday night.Despite this, the very friendly waitress/ staff made us feel very welcome and set up an extra table outside as suggested.

The food was just perfect! From the starters to the main meal dishes..Had no space for deserts! the daal (lentils) and panir spinach were just like home! Pleasantly surprised..
enjoyed by all whilst taking in the cosmopolitan feel of the immediate street surrounding.
the decor was pretty basic. Not that we could care less when everything from the food, hygiene and service was incredible. I couldn't help but notice a full score rating certificate of some sort hung on the wall inside. Not surprised at all if they dishing out food like this on a regular basis. Thank you for a lasting fond memory in what was already a beautiful city stay.

Dr U Riaz

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uriaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    267
    61
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food ..loads of it”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Maharadascha after reading the previous reviews and they were spot on.... a great welcome from Mrs Joshi, a wonderful Indian dinner and a very reasonable bill. I would thoroughly recommend going if you love Indian food like we do.

Helpful?
Thank Bob722851
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Indian flavors in Berlin”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were very pleased to enjoy a delicious dinner at this restaurant. We've had a lovely time here in Berlin and were looking for some spice to end the day with. The dishes fit the bill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbbeyDelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“terrible restaurant, terrible cousins, terrible service..”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

i was in Berlin last week on a business trip with my colleagues and we decide to go to an indian restaurant . we search on internet and find this restaurant, we travel like 10 mile to go there but when we reach there , the experience was really bad. There was no one on the counter to receive customers, The attendant was talking to some another guy and she was too busy that she don't even notice us for like 2 minuets. the table we got there was full with empty plates left by other customers the they took long time to clean it up. then the waiter bring water for us but some of the glasses were not well cleaned and there was something sticking at the bottom. we order chicken soup but it wasn't looking like soup..it was like chicken pieces swimming in water and there was no flavor . Then we order tandoori naan and madrasi chicken for our main course , but they make it too spicy , also tandoori naans were overcooked and burnt. No one from us complete their meal. it was soo bad and embarrassing that all of us decide to move on to some another restaurant. we leave things in plates , pay the money and left this so called restaurant. I'll never ever visit this restaurant again in my life. it was really an insult of delicious indian food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dav_badwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajo83, Inhaber at Indisches Restaurant Maharadscha, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
let me explain you, that we have no counter. do you mean there was no one to receive you
( IS IT REALLY TRUE ??????? according to you a dirty table was offered which proves
that somebody was with you. more over we clean the tables before taking the bill, so the quetion of dirty table does not arise, the person serving you is definately not blind to give u dirty glasses and we dont serve water in glasses we have only bottels- please check your comments before sending them there is a lot of difference between cusine and cousins
joshi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worst indian restaurant in berlin”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We decided to try this restaurant and were highly disappointed. The service was bad and the food not very tasty. We tried four different main courses and three different wines. The main dishes unfortunately were of a very poor quality. The food was also very salty. All four of us agreed, we haven’t had this bad Indian food before. . Don’t waste your money here!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nikitan261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajo83, Inhaber at Indisches Restaurant Maharadscha, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
According to you our food was bad or not to your taste but you did not mention what you ate and
which wine you drank.
i would like to hear the name of dishes and wines you ordered to , in order to take your comments seriously.
joshi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indisches Restaurant Maharadscha also viewed

Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Indisches Restaurant Maharadscha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing