We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty traditional German meal enough to keep you full ALL day.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gambrinus

Gambrinus
Krausnickstr. 1, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030 2826043
Improve this listing
Ranked #526 of 7,586 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hearty traditional German meal enough to keep you full ALL day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stumbled across Gambinus searching for pork knuckles, schnitzel and dumplings and got exactly that and more. Food portions were huge, great friendly serivie and full of locals so knew it would be good. Our second night in Berlin we searched for another German food restaurant and ended up back at Gambrinus as couldn't find anything that would match the quality of their food nor their value for money. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elise_s86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    101
    27
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ladybank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Massive tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Brilliantly cooked authentic feeling German food in massive portions. This Is my second visit and I will come again.

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff, South Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth going if only for the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This restaurant was quite a way from where we were staying but it was worth the effort to go there. It is located at the end of a street that has some interesting activities at night – my children are too young to understand why there were so many ladies stood on the street.

It is very small inside which creates a cosy atmosphere. The two ladies who appear to run the restaurant were very busy but still seemed to deal with everything efficiently. Food and beer were very reasonably priced. Only slight complaint was that we were rushed a bit – the main course arrived as I finished my last mouthful of my starter. I assumed they wanted our table but this proved incorrect and I think you have to make an allowance for this given the fact there are only two people serving all the customers. Highly recommend for a good meal in a restaurant with a great atmosphere and ambience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank camach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ikea serves better strudel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

one of worst schnitzels. . No taste, soaked on bad mushroom sauce. . .bad choice. Even worse their applestrudel. . "freshly" unfrozen from the microwave,even ikea serves a better one. This restaurant is only good for tourists, people who dont show up a second time.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great little place which we stumbled upon by accident, the food is excellent but it's also a lovely place just to go for a beer. Just what you'd imagine a traditional German pub to be like - be warned it's quite small and it does get busy. There are only about 8 or so tables and probably only space for 8 at the bar. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area, it's also very close to the U-Bahn station at Oranienburger Tor. Staff are very friendly and they have a menu available in English, very reasonable priced. It's also open from 12-2am and they'll serve you food at pretty much anytime!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becks_8020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gambrinus also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Gambrinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing