We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simply superb - perhaps the best lunch deal in Berlin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FACIL

FACIL
Ranked #5 of 7,679 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $215
Cuisines: International, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Description: The FACIL, Berlin's oasis of culinary culture, offers a refreshing combination of elegant lightness and pure luxury, modernity and understatement. The restaurant treats diners to the very best cuisine and it has an easygoing feel. The service is excellent and you have the chance to relax and escape from the stresses and strains of everyday life. The core of the FACIL philosophy is the lightness of being. In culinary terms, the food will melt on your tongue. The restaurant offers a selection of natural cuisine which is both unpretentious and ingenious.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Simply superb - perhaps the best lunch deal in Berlin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Berlin is a wonderful city endowed with many great restaurants.

On this our most recent trip we dined at a number of famous Berlin "institutions" including the two Michellin starred Fischers Fritz and Luttner and Wegner, hands down Facil was the stand out.

Every aspect of our 3 course lunch was outstanding. Each dish was delicious and although complex did not lose their objective- the deserts were breathtaking in presentation and taste.

At 42 euros per person, the meal is a dining bargain (although the wine list as expected does not assist being thrift).

On a quiet wet Tuesday, the restaurant had only one table for two still available and reservations are essential to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    71
    36
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One Michelin Star Too Many”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have never given a one star restaurant review and have never disliked a restaurant as much as I disliked Facil. I am trying to come up with some redeeming qualities but I can't come up with anything of substance.

The service is pretty good. The decor is nice enough (the flowers are very pretty and very cleverly done). But the food, the reason why you go to a Michelin starred restaurant, was awful.

To put this in context, my husband and I are relatively adventurous diners. We have gone to many Michelin starred and highly rated restaurants and often opt for the digustation menu, putting our trust in the chef to conjure up whatever he/she has determined to be the best and to surprise and challenge our taste buds.

Facil has some unusual ingredients and dinner options, which we were willing to experiment with. The best degustations, especially ones where there are some more adventurous items on the menu, are the ones where the chef begins building a relationship with the diner by offering familiar and tasty first bites and slowly builds trust with the diner by serving properly executed, dishes adding twists to each one. As the diner progresses from one dish to another and becomes confident that what they are being served is going to be good, the leap to veal lungs becomes easier. The problem with Facil, a restaurant that has a number of either adventurous food items or food items that are prepared in adventurous ways, is that it never won our trust.

The amuse bouche, although not confronting, was unimpressive and bland and the food that preceded the more adventurous mains seemed to be raw and not properly executed. It is at this point were we started to lose our confidence in this restaurant and were unsure of everything that was presented to us. "Is it cooked right?" "Is this what it's supposed to taste like?" "Is it supposed to have this consistency?" were the questions my husband and I threw around at each other. We did not say anything and you may ask why? First, we slightly doubted ourselves..."surely a Michelin starred restaurant knows whether the veal they are serving is completely raw and wouldn't serve it right?" and second, it's always hard as a visitor to a country where you don't speak the language, to complain. You don't want to be THAT person. So we left it.


Looking around at other diners, we had to chuckle. There were at least two people at the table next to us who almost seemed pained when putting the food into their mouths--they also did the degustation. We may have been projecting our own disappointment on others, but it was really one of the worst, unappealing, bland and poorly executed meals I have had.

The desert, which at least didn't scare me from a "is this raw and going to make me sick" perspective, was just not that exciting and certainly not exciting enough for such a well regarded restaurant. The petit four were good.

The meal was so memorably bad that in the following 2 weeks of travel and 30+ restaurants we dined at (including some hole-in-the-walls) one or both of us could be heard saying "oh my God, this is just so much better than Facil".

Sorry Facil.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MMCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
358 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Unusual ingredients, startlingly good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This restaurant, in Berlin's Mandala Hotel, has been shaking up the local fine dining scene with some ingredients you're not likely to find every day such as 'wool pig' (yes, a pig that needs to be shorn) and bison. Opting to order a la carte, there are so many little additions you'll feel like you're easting a full tasting menu. Some exceptional food here from chef Michael Kempf. The restaurant itself is housed in a glass cube on the fifth floor of the hotel, giving it an unusual ambience. Great food, very good service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thefoodieworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Great dining experience in this beautiful restaurant!

Set in a glass room surrounded by bambus the place emanates zen understated elegance. You feel immediately at ease despite the perfection and well thought place of each decoration element.

The food is cooked to perfection and each dish is a little art piece of its own both in terms of taste and of presentation. The portions were small but, unless one didn't eat for two days, a three course menu will not leave you felling hungry.

Service was professional, very attentive and the food was well introduced.

I will return!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Val_travel_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most amazing and artistic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was perhaps my most memorable and fascinating dining experience ever! A beautifull orchestrated oeuvre d'art. Such incredible teamwork. It was fascinating watching the well organized servers (very knowledgeable ones at that!) throughout the 5 or 7 course extravaganza. Wines were varied and superb, table settings came and went according to the menu choices. Each serving was a masterpiece of presentation and taste. I was amazed that even with small servings that there was hardly room for desserts...fortunately, there was! They even prepared a small take out box of candies.... If there is a class above First, Facil is the embodiment of it! I have no idea what the dinners cost as we with the delighted guest of a most knowledgeable Berliner!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FACIL also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to FACIL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing