We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Entrecote

Entrecote
Ranked #110 of 8,291 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

A large group of us dined here on a Monday night in October. Very busy. Staff friendly and attentive. Food excellent - fillet of beef was outstanding. I couldn't comment upon price as the meal was paid for via business. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    260
    79
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
150 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed; Paris in Berlin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had lunch here. Decor is true Parisien, as well as the food, compared with the better bistro's in Paris.
Good ingredients, fairly priced winelist, and - for German standards - excellent steak tartare.
Nice ambience. Make sure to make reservations; place was practically full for a standard Friday for lunch.
Service is OK. mainly French staff; again, truly Parisien (not being the kindest of people but the service is quick and professional)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A sarcastic member of staff and poor profiteroles”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our meal started pretty well, albeit with a lengthy wait for service (which they had in fairness warned us about when we booked) and then also a long wait for the food. The steaks were great. End of positive review. One of our puddings was profiteroles, which turned out to be disappointing both in taste and texture, which needn't have been much of a problem as it was returned virtually untouched and we expected not to be charged for it. It can be said that the other two puddings were chocolate fondants and were very tasty, although it was regretful that we had not been warned that being freshly cooked they would take 35 minutes to arrive. Unfortunately when we talked to our waiter about the problem with the profiteroles his response was "There is chocolate sauce, vanilla ice cream and you say it is tasteless?" with a confrontational and somewhat provocative manner. He then brought us our bill which included the cost of the profiteroles and refused to remove this item. We therefore asked to speak to the manager, who arrived explaining that she had already spoken to the owner, who said we could have a free coffee but we had to pay for the profiteroles. Despite explaining how the choux pastry was unpleasantly tough and crunchy and that the mix of cream and ice-cream was bland and tasteless she simply reiterated several times that this was their method of preparation and that we had to pay for it. I then uttered the magic word Tripadvisor. She went away (to consult again?) and returned with a change of heart. The profiteroles were removed from the bill with an assurance that it had nothing to do with the mention of Tripadvisor and with some explanation of a misunderstanding, stories having differed between the serving staff or some such. Needless to say they missed out on our normal 10% tip which would have gone their way if a more polite and customer friendly attitude had been adopted in the face of this unsatisfactory dessert.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Citytourist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great little place for mid-priced French food and drink, friendly staff and handy for where we stayed near Checkpoint Charlie.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jooly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing- slow service, boring food, too loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was with a group of 30. Nevertheless it took them more than 30 min to get us bread and water, 45 min to get us wine and an hour for the first course which was preordered for the group- a simple green salad with a few walnuts sprinkled on top. Main course was some French fries and slices of beef. Beef was good. Overall a lousy choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DutchGirlTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Entrecote also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Entrecote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing