We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but a bit pricey”

Cafe Einstein Stammhaus
Ranked #72 of 8,445 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Took a walk from the hotel (Berlin, Berlin) and glad we checked out the location ahead of time since it looks more like a house than a restaurant. We went for dinner and found the food to be good, but fairly high priced for what we got.
The interior is quaint and homey. I enjoyed the time but not the bill :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tb004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    286
    65
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Casual Elegance ! Unlike its namesakes.....”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Subtly located in an elegant private residential looking villa, this cafe/restaurant, is where real Berliners hang out. The atmosphere is uniquely friendly, attractive staff is consistently courteous and efficient. Food fresh and appetizingly served. We had their delicious schnitzel and scrumptious apfel strudel....you might as well be in someone's friendly home. Though prices are on the high side, who is counting ?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geomeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortenberg, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Traditional.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A real Stammhaus. same table, same time, same people! lovely for a late morning coffee with a sweet. in the meanwhile you read your book or newspaper . Watch simply the people inside en enjoy the atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vangreun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful old restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant for dinner after reading the good reviews of the upstairs bar. We found it a little hard to find as it looked like an old residential house from the front, but we were not disappointed when we had dinner! My husband had pheasant, which he has never had the opportunity to do so, and said it was delicious. I was a little more disappointed with my dish ( traditional Bavarian boiled meat?) as it wasn't as exciting as pheasant, but still well cooked and tasty. We both had the seafood bouillabaisse as starters and thought that was perfect! The service was very good from the minute we walked in and the waiter took our coats, and it is a gorgeous old fashioned restaurant on the inside without being too stuffy. We'd definitely recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 255103Laura82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lod, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An OK place.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Waiters and service are very official so it's not like your down the street coffee place. Foodwise it's a bit overpriced. For instance, at this price you can find a better schnitzel at Schnitzelei, although it's far away. Decided to order simple and good value food.
The rindersuppe was warm and tasty but the lachs sandwich was ruined by some strong spicy dressing. why? Was it to hide some other tastes or was the fish not fresh or was it a pretentious culinary idea? Either way a simple sandwich is ruined.
The Apfelstrudel was good and had good flavors. Got a full teapot with earl grey, don't remember that i supersized.
Overall, don't expect anything special. If you want to be on the safe side just order a breakfast or a dessert. The cakes at the display look delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Einstein Stammhaus also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Einstein Stammhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing