We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Cafe Einstein Stammhaus
Ranked #72 of 8,371 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Cafe, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Munich
Level Contributor
121 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Went here recently with some friends at their suggestion. Terrible choice. Overpriced, 20 € for a Schnitzel is crazy, go get one at a Kiosk for less than half the price and a better deal.
House wine was bad. My partner had country potatoes, they were burnt and looked as if they were from the day before.
The Waitress was unfriendly and incompetent.
I do not mind giving out money for good food, this unfortunately was not the case.
In a city like Berlin there are too many places to go where the food is better. Do not waste your time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeeBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    280
    62
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Achterveld, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Huge schnitzels!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had dinner with seven at a nice table in the main seating area (private rooms are upstairs). Restaurant is close to Kurfürstendamm in West Belin. Austrian-style cuisine, good but rather unfriendly service. Schnitzels are enormous and excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A little piece of Vienna in Berlin”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I come a lot to this café. Mostly because of the atmosphere. Service is good and food is also good (nothing spectacular, but very good.) I love the details, for example: everything they serve is Austrian: from the D'Arbo jams to the Römerquelle mineral water. In the summer, there is a nice garden.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swissmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the kind of coffeehouse you just want to sit in all day, and I guess you could. Just bring a book, or sit there to people watch. Huge portions and the best coffee we drank in Berlin.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MHC114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“apfelstrudel”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We came to Einstein at our last day in Berlin because of good comments at tripadvisor. So my feelings. The place looks very old fashioned itself + waiters at their costumes and with great manners make you feel like in movie. Price is high but ok, not overpriced. ad about apfelstrudel... actually i thought that it will be something fabulous (after comments here) but it was just tasty ad that is all
for 2 strudel and tea we payed nearly 17 euro

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Einstein Stammhaus also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Einstein Stammhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing