We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Beautiful Beer Garden!”

Cafe am Neuen See, Biergarten
Ranked #1,241 of 8,508 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Bakersfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another Beautiful Beer Garden!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

In the summer this place is wonderful. It is set next to a lake and is good for families. There is a sandbox for the kids and lot of different ages of people here. The food looked good but my husband and I only shared a pretzel with our beer. Too fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    263
    123
    76
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to grab a beer, a Berlin institute”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This cute beer garden alongside a lake is a cracking place which feels like you are in the middle of the country, a bit of a schlep to reach by public transport, but worth the effort.
Crowded on warm summer nights, they have indoor and outdoor facilities.
It can be hit and miss -- I took friends there for brunch once and the coffee machine was broken (I thought it was a joke, but no) and the service can be slow, but worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rylandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for having some local fun”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We walked into this place and the nearby lake non-intentionally. But immediately liked this place so much that we went back twice just to enjoy the lake, boat rowing, and simply seeing the locals enjoyed hot summer afternoon/evening having beer and good time with friends. Our family of four really enjoyed it and wish this same setting can be had in our own city the great Irvine California - but the southern Californian are so phobia about drinking and smoking in the park/beach, they banned everything. What's fun if you just seat in a sterile park/beach? We stayed in Berlin for a week and never saw once a drunken German or drug addicts in this big international city.

If you have the time, spend a good afternoon/evening here in this little beergarten and outdoor restaurant and you will have a good time as the locals. This is not a high-end place if that is what you are looking for. This is where you kick out shoes and having good chat time with your friends at the end of a hot summer day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dafuown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful spot by the lake”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We somehow managed to have several breakfasts, lunch and dinner here - it was a delightful spot with friendly, cheerful staff and delicious food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Albany7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauriac, France
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Kaiser Wilhelm I built a magnificent tower from which he could review the troops as they marched past. The tower and balcony are now the feature points of this excellent restaurant. You can dine inside in regal splendour or you can "scruff it" outside at the very good café. The view of the lake from the garden café is very good. Kids can run around outside without getting into mischief. The Grunewald woods are adjacent and excellent for walking. A great idea is to get the U Bahn from the city to a U bahn stop on the Eastern side of the Grunewald then take the 5 kilometre walk thro' the woods to the Tower/restaurant/café. Sunday brunch is particularly popular at the café. There are buses from the tower back into the city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe am Neuen See, Biergarten also viewed

 

Been to Cafe am Neuen See, Biergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing