We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berlin at its best!”
Review of borchardt

borchardt
Ranked #595 of 8,583 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $0 - $66
Cuisines: French, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Berlin at its best!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Sunday evening. Restaurants candle-lit but largely empty. Until we reached Borchardt which was packed and buzzing. The clientele was mixed: rare, medium and well done. Despite being busy, a table was found for the four of us. Everyone around us seemed to be eating schnitzel, a house special we were told by our waiter. It would have been perverse to have chosen anything else. Two of us had small schnitzels with white asparagus and two had the large (enormous) scripts with potato. We could not eat anything afterwards. The service was excellent - our waiter was great fun. We'd go back just for him!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StormDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    419
    275
    139
    151
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food - Awesome Atmosphere - Nice Building”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place is a throwback to a bygone era.

The food is wonderful, the service is very professional (but not stodgy or stiff), and the building architecture is reminiscent of something you'd see in a period-movie.

I went to Borchardt for a social-business meeting with half a dozen associates, and I'm glad this is the place they selected.

Every dish that arrived was refined, flavorful, well presented, and properly portioned.

The overall atmosphere reminds me the noise and energy in a New York City upscale steakhouse --- it's really quite cool.

This place isn't cheap and is a real treat. You know you're paying, but you also know you're getting quality, service, and a great venue.

Try it. You won't be disappointed !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Re-think the German küche”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed with an Italian host in Berlin last month, enjoying exquisite meals at home prepared by a master chef of il Bel Paese -- but since this was my bride's first time ever in Germany, we felt the need to expose her to Germany's own culinary tradition and sought a recommendation from our host for a German restaurant near St. Hedwig's Cathedral where we'd stop in for Sunday morning mass. Borchardt was at the top of his list. We were initially put off by a supercilious maître d', but the waiter who attended our table--Alex, I think his name was--proved to be warm and welcoming. My wife was taking few chances, and opted for wiener schnitzel, which was delicious and memorable. (I can't say the same for my meal, which was good enough, but not so good that I remember what it was.) It's definitely an up-market establishment in what was, during DDR days, some sort of state grocery shop, and it was humming with Sunday diners when we ate there. Not cheap.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trentonmakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loud, loud, loud, but good food”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is what we call a "fun" place in New York City, meaning the noise level is deafening. Even our waiter had trouble hearing our orders. But the food was very good (we didn't have the schnitzel for which they are famous), and the wine list had lots of good choices. A very popular place among locals. Walking distance to Adlon Kempinski hotel.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Acadia777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worst service ever”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by a local friend. Sadly, our visit turned out to be an incredibly depressing experience for our first night in Berlin. When we arrived (5 mins early) we were ushered to a soulless downstairs room. The upstairs atmosphere was much better. The extremely stressed waiter took a long while to take our order and then we tried to keep positive and cheerful for about hour and a half whilst we waited for our starter to arrive. Despite speaking to the manager our main course also took ages to come.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsminLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed borchardt also viewed

 

Been to borchardt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing