We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alper Hotel am Potsdamer Platz
Ranked #588 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value hotel in central location”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Although there is some noise from the local entertainment centre, our room was at the back and it didn't bother us. The staff are all most welcoming and helpful. The room was fine. There was ample space in the lobby to use the free WiFi and there was a drinks machine there. The buffet breakfast was by far the best ever enjoyed in Germany with an attentive lady clearing table and topping up the coffee urns. There is an M85 bus stop right outside the hotel for quick connection to the Hauptbahnhof and an U-station, Kurfurstendam about two blocks distant

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    38
    29
    65
See reviews for
23
39
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel in Berlin... if you are afroamerican. Quite noisy at night, a lot of people are standing next to the entrance to the hotel where a strip club is located. Not so fancy place, rather good for one night stay if you are lookibg for sonething not expensive, but probalbly it is worth to spent more money for a better hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank Darrarski
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Poznan, Wielkopolskie, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Average standard. Lobby and corridors unpleasant, the room itself looked good, but a bathroom refurbishment is needed. The service at low level. There were problems with wifi - its available for a fee, but only in a small lobby, which was cold. On the other hand, breakfast was very good. Buffet - good food, plenty of choice. Location is very good - bus stop in front of the hotel, and even to some of the attractions you can go on foot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawid_Poznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

There's nothing good to say about this "hotel" at all. Smelly and warm rooms, dirty carpets, bad breakfast with few choices, mould in bathroom, thin doors, next to a strip club, prostitutes around the corner, noisy street with much traffic and many buses, construction work going on behind the "hotel, stench of cigarettes everywhere, creepy elevator that worked when it wanted to, no security in any way and, worst of all, exceptionally RUDE and UNFRIENDLY staff. I have never met so horrible people in all my life! My only recommendation is STAY AWAY. I would never ever, ever, ever pay to stay here again - it's a complete waste of money. Berlin has so so so many other hotels to choose from, so don't choose this one. I hope that there is some kind of hotel inspection board in Berlin that will take a look at this hotel and close it down as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arwems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

You wake up and feel like you had a bad dream? This is Alper Hotel where i stayed for 5 nights and had terrible experiences. Unfriendly staff, old fashioned rooms, 4th floor rooms used by local "girls" resting after a long night. Breakfast and cleanliness was okay, otherwise its a total scam.

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd floor facing the rear part of the Hotel (currently a hospital is under renovation and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent there 4night in March during the ITB. The hotel has a good location. It is about 10mintus walk from the Potsdamer Platz.
The room was smelled. I couldn't close the window. The walls were moldy, there was a whole in the carpet and it was dirty as well. There were a lot of bad-looking men in the hotel and they were doing thier business there.
The staff was unfriendly and unprofessional. There was a young lady at the reception, she was extremely unkindly.
It was a poor value for our money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radzser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were a bit afraid of what we'll find there considering we booked a room with private external bathroom, but to our surprise, the conditions were better than expected. Both the room and the bathroom were clean and the room looked like it was recently refurnished. The included breakfast was good and the location of the hotel was excellent (only a few bus stops away from Potsdamer Platz and about 15 minutes from the main train station. The bus station is exactly in front of the hotel). The staff was very friendly and helpful speaking English. Considering the price we paid for our stay there, the breakfast and the location of the hotel, I think this is a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei_Croitoriu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
fjord hotel berlin
fjord hotel berlin
#85 of 634 in Berlin
457 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Berlin Markischer Hof am Tacheles
Charlottenburg
Hotel Delta
Hotel Delta
#417 of 634 in Berlin
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Ibis Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Charlottenburg
Maritim Hotel Berlin
Maritim Hotel Berlin
#107 of 634 in Berlin
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alper Hotel am Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alper Hotel am Potsdamer Platz

Property: Alper Hotel am Potsdamer Platz
Address: Potsdamer Str. 82-84, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #588 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alper Hotel am Potsdamer Platz 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Alper Hotel am Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing