We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Berlin
Ranked #308 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Rivoli, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were in this hotel in December. It was nice but small room. And small bathroom . The lady on the reception was friendly . The problem we got just when we would like to eat in restaurant in the evening and they don´t tak CC . But brakfast was nice not a lot of stuff just a normal staff like cheese , ham , salami, yoghurt cerealies. Maybe will help when they will be faster i wait like 15 minutes for ham . And also table need to be just a little bit faster cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateknocik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    152
    71
    25
    17
See reviews for
24
121
66
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have just returned from a short visit to Berlin and stayed here, altogether it was very clean visitors needed to be very fit to manage to carry cases to the rooms. There was a lift but it only stopped between floors, and as it was an old building the staits were quite long and steep. The breakfast room was too small for the amount of gueste and the food only adequate in both quantity and variety. More use could have been made of the vestibule to enable visitors to meet, ther were only 2 stools and these were by the computer. However, the staff were very helpful and the hotel was convenient for the Ubahn and walking into town and there was a choice of bars nearby as there was no bar in the hotel..

Room Tip: Try to share with a friend as the singles were very small but a very good bathroom. Friends who ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurowanderer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland, Bayern
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful, room is spacious and comfortable, As breakfast is to be booked seperately they react very flexible. The area is really downtown Berlin /West, you can manage a lot by foot. Hotel is situated in a quiete area

Room Tip: As staircases are quite narrow we recommend a room on ground floor if you got some luggage pieces
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel:
We (young couple) stayed here for 2 nights in August during a weekend visit to Berlin. The hotel is located close to two U-bahn stations, from which you can easily explore the whole city. It is located away from the busy and noisy streets, so you are not bothered by traffic noise while staying in your room. Be aware that the Schapestrasse runs in a half circle and is divided by another street. We were on the West side of the Schapestrasse at first and had great trouble finding the hotel, since the street numbers did not make any sense. Only later we found out that we needed the East side of the street (and then 200 m from the U-bahn station as is described on the hotel website actually makes sense).
Next to the hotel there is a small bistro where an enjoyable breakfast (hot and cold buffet) is served every morning for only 9 Euro p.p., which we thought was great value.

Service:
When we arrived, we found out that the double room that we booked was a smoking room. We did not indicate during our booking that we preferred non-smoking, since we have experienced that nowadays it is more common to request a smoking room than vice-versa. But in Berlin this is apparently different.
We (especially me) did not want to sleep in a smoking room, but unfortunately all non-smoking double rooms were booked for that night. In the end, the receptionist offered us a comfort single room (with 1.40 m bed) and a free breakfast the next morning for the down-grade. The next night we were offered a non-smoking double room that had become available, so all was solved. We were very happy with this service.
So if you have a problem with smoking rooms: make sure to indicate you want to book a non-smoking room when making reservations.

Comfort:
The quality of the rooms was extremely good and quite surprising considering the prices. The beds are very comfortable and the shower is amazing. The rooms and bathroom are very clean.

Would stay here again if I plan to visit Berlin again and will recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure to indicate 'non-smoking' if you have a problem with smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
236 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel itself was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very average in a sterile atmosphere that was not very welcoming. For a big city hotel that says it offers all business services and free wifi, the service was very bad. It was difficult to get and keep a connection. It is not hard to have good wifi these days but this hotel hasn't managed that.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UltimateWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar HaMaccabi, Israel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed with a group at this hotel in Berlin so I had no choice. The location is not very close to the underground station, and the stations that are closest aren't the most convenient lines for tourists.
The lobby is non-existent. You enter into a small space taken up by the reception desk faced by two chairs and a mirror. Just beyond there is an open space but I would hardly call it a lobby. There is no bar. There is an elevator but it is small and slow. Most people dragged their suitcases up the staircase. My room was so small and narrow I felt that I was living in a dormitory. I had a bed, a very small night stand, one chair, and a rather shabby closet. No fridge, no safe. There was a TV. I've been in youth hostels with better accomodations.
The staff was helpful except for one night clerk who had a confrontation with some of our group. To be fair, the management sorted that out. The breakfasts were quite OK although not expansive (one kind of egg, every morning). The dining room manager was a gem, and deserves singular praise for his willingness to help - out of nowhere and at the last minute, he winkled alternatives for gluten limited guests.
On the whole this hotel is not for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel is positioned as a budget hotel, however during periods that there is a big convention in Berlin they tend to jack up their prices which make the stay not worth it. The rooms are very small and the hallways are tight. Breakfast is very simple, which makes it not worth it if your charged premium.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin
Neukolln
Motel Plus Berlin
Motel Plus Berlin
#274 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#112 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Schoneberg
Ibis Budget Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
Berlin Plaza Hotel
Berlin Plaza Hotel
#264 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Berlin

Property: Metropolitan Hotel Berlin
Address: Schaperstr. 36, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in the traditional district of Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf. The Hotel Metropolitan is located only a few minutes from Kurfürstendamm, in a quiet side street of Berlin City West, a charming individual hotel in the heart of Berlin. The hotel is located in a typical, upper-class Berlin old building from the turn of the century.Each of the 76 rooms has an individual design with modern comforts.Our inviting, modern and decorated in warm colours rooms have a comfortable bed and a functional bathroom and offer you everything you need for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing