We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Berlin
Ranked #326 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Here on Tripadvisor it looks like it's a steal and a cool hotel but it's nothing special.
Bed was not comfy and tiny (single person), room was tiny. no Minibar and no free WIFI.
Location was good but it feels very anonymous as they don't have a Hotelbar etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 361 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

The staff was not friendly at check-inn and during the stay if we had questions!! We booked another room then we finally got. We askes for a twin room, one had to sleep on a coach which was converted to a hard bed. There is no free WiFi in the hotel. The rooms are really poor decorated and dated. In the bistro next door breakfast for 7,50 euro is a plus. And parking for 8 euro a day is ok too.The hotel is centrally situated. But they really, really need to work on their service and kindness. We were here for pleasure and business and stayed for 5 days. But I would never recommend this hotel to anyone else.

Room Tip: If you really want to visit this otel, ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marieke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Despite the reservation on their site and payment, we did not get what we had booked.
The offered special needs were not possible, this was pass notified on arrival. Reception was not willing to think along.

The road to the parking is to small (car mirrors touch the wall)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanaC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The room (single) was of a decent size and clean. I had chosen the room with a queen-size bed, so it was slightly larger than the regular single rooms, but still came with a single size duvet :-)

For the price of the room, just under 50 Euros per night, I believe that the hotel delivered. The only complaint would be in connection to the pillows, somewhat on the lumpy side, but other than that a decent budget hotel. The breakfast at 7.50 Euros was also of good value with an extensive buffet.

The hotel is situated in a quiet tree-lined street and is a mere 5 minute walk to the nearest underground station. All of the staff at reception were very pleasant too.

Would be pleased to recommend this hotel for people looking for a no-frills comfortable and reasonably priced hotel close to one of Berlin's main shopping thoroughfares.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally_AnneGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Expectations:
Just needed a bed for the night which didn't cost too much.

Hotel:
Didn't see much of the hotel itself as I came in late (23:30) and left early (around nine).

Staff:
The staff was nice and helpful.

Rooms:
I got a single room. The room itself seemed a little run down - a couple of fittings were missing and a tile in the bathroom was gone. The bed was fine and no problems really - if you close your eyes to the small details.

Pools etc.:
-

Amenities:
Use nothing but the wifi - which I payed 2 Euro for for an hour. I'm still puzzled that wifi is almost never free in Germany.

Food & Drinks:
-

For kids:
-

Safety:
-

Transportation:
Easy to get to. Took a cab to get there from the airport (Tegel) - about 15 Euro. Walked to Zoo and took the U bahn.

Local area:
Close to the big shopping streets and other things. Not my favorite area in Berlin but good for shopping.

Excursions:
-

Price:
Extremely cheap - got a special deal and thing I payed about 30 Euro for a single room for one night.

Other things:
-

Overall:
Got what I expected for almost nothing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonashomaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed at a double room with a friend and it was like a 4 stars room. Charming. Also with balcony! For a really cheap price comparing to other places in Europe or in Berlim, even if in Berlim everything is a cheaper. This hotel is really good for the value. Amazing breakfast at a Bistro on the next door. The only strange thing is that you have a lift "stop" for each 2 floors so you will always have to carry your luggage up and downstairs... not a good ideia if you are a single lady arriving alone at night with 2 heavy bags. No one to help you. No free wifi but you can pay to have it (2 euros 1 hour, 3 euros 3 hours or 7,50 euros 24 hours) or use their desktop on the lounge for free. Not close to the main sights, but very close to the main shopping street and the Zoo Garden (very easy to go wherever you need and also to the airport). I stayed alone at a single room for one day when my friend left, it was very small but where do you pay less than 40 euros for a private with ensuite? Good for the value and that´s it. I´d stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April 2012. The hotel has amazing location. It is so close to the U-bahn and very easy to find. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Kurfurstendamm, main shopping street. Also not far from the hotel there are 2 busses routes (100 and 200). Just catch one of them and you will see all the main attractions of the city.
The room was nice and cosy. It is simple, but you have everything you need for really low price. I didn't take breakfasts, cause I had to leave early everyday, but it wasn't a problem. Not far from the hotels there is a supermarket.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nastya_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Atrium Hotel Berlin
#551 of 634 in Berlin
71 reviews
Charlottenburg
Art-Hotel Charlottenburger Hof
Charlottenburg
Hotel Luetzow
Hotel Luetzow
#272 of 634 in Berlin
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Berliner Hof Hotel
Berliner Hof Hotel
#164 of 634 in Berlin
677 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#367 of 634 in Berlin
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Berlin

Address: Schaperstr. 36, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $54 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in the traditional district of Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf. The Hotel Metropolitan is located only a few minutes from Kurfürstendamm, in a quiet side street of Berlin City West, a charming individual hotel in the heart of Berlin. The hotel is located in a typical, upper-class Berlin old building from the turn of the century.Each of the 76 rooms has an individual design with modern comforts.Our inviting, modern and decorated in warm colours rooms have a comfortable bed and a functional bathroom and offer you everything you need for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing