We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low price - poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gaestehaus Berlin Mitte
Ranked #88 of 193 Berlin B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We´ve been in that hotel for 2 nights. It´s quite central and cheap: 59,- (internet price) for two (!!) per night. THIS is really cheap, as it is not a dirty back packer or a youth hostel.
They promise on their page, besides a TV, also a safe and sunlight impermeable curtains.

Well, the room was clean. But the safe was not usable for us. There was an old model. They said that they´re just updating their rooms with digital safes...
The curtains were NOT sunlight impermeable as promised. We had those cheap red curtains you´ll see on the homepage.
After our first night the housekeeping service did not clean our room. How poor is that? I thought that this is a hotel, not hostel etc.
On second night we couldn´t take a warm shower, it was all cold! They said that they´re hust repairing their water-tubes...

Well, I didn´t excepted a "Ritz Carlton" for that price. It´s honestly a good value for your bucks. But these service discrepancies and "broken promises" are a big minus for this hotel. We will not recommend this hotel and left it with an impression of little anger and excuses from the hotel personal.

Conclusion: It´s cheap, it´s central but it´s still not worth for the money. Maybe we had bad luck, but I won´t give it a second chance.

P.S.: There´s a huge building site right in front of the hotel right now (13. Aug. 2009). So it´s also noisy. Not good, if you want to sleep long.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akira2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 63 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2009

Having arrived in berlin not booking accommodation, we immediately headed for a tourist info centre.
They got us a room at Gastehaus Berlin Mitte.
Perfect for what we wanted. Clean very comfortable accommodation in the perfect location.
Will definately stay here again.

Great break berlin in a must and this accommodation is perfect

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordiedancer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Good Points
* Very nice staff
* Clean, neat and modern
* Walking distance from the train station
* Comfy beds
* Good location, not far from the action

Bad Points
* No English TV


Breakfast is 6 euro (we didn't try it though)

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussietraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Check in closed at 18:00 or 18:30 but we arrived at gone 23:00.
We were supposed to have received a PIN number to allow us to get a key from an automated machine. Make sure you get this number before you leave home (this is NOT your Confirmation number or Itinerary number - we tried both)!
A kind German guest rang a couple of telephone numbers stuck to the machine and sorted it out and we got our key after about 10 minutes. After this rocky start, our room was fine. Plenty big enough and everything was clean. There was a kitchinette with cooker, fridge, sink and table and chairs to eat from. It would have been fine for a few days, though we we're there only one night.
There's a big building site right across the road. It didn't give us any trouble but we arrived late and left early.
The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the main railway station, which was our reason for choosing it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RolandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

The hotel staff is friendly, but they seem a bit overworked. They sometimes overlook things (eg. we ordered a room with breakfast and on
the first day, they forgot to buy enough bread for the breakfast for us). Our room lacked soap in the bathroom and we had to ask for an electric kettle. Apart from that, it was OK: WiFi worked in the room without problems and the room was itself very clean and tidy. The location is very convenient, the street was quiet despite some construction works taking place nearby. Overall, I can recommend this hotel for budget travellers wishing to visit Berlin for museums and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank katastrofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuel700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Boede på nr. 12 med vindue ud til gården. Stille og roligt med morgensol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank taipan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Pension am Fernsehturm
Pension am Fernsehturm
#24 of 193 in Berlin
18 reviews
Mitte
Halong Hotel
Halong Hotel
#82 of 193 in Berlin
29 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#18 of 193 in Berlin
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Goodman's Living
Goodman's Living
#5 of 193 in Berlin
261 reviews
Mitte
CALMA Berlin Mitte
CALMA Berlin Mitte
#6 of 193 in Berlin
386 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaestehaus Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaestehaus Berlin Mitte

Address: Habersaathstr. 42, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range: $65 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gaestehaus Berlin Mitte 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Gaestehaus Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastehaus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing