We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt
Nearby Hotels
$108
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$215
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$117
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$114
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
$118
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Melia Berlin(Berlin)
$136
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$88
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Adlon Kempinski(Berlin)
$786
$462
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$321
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveler rating
352
376
66
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
376
66
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalexanderplatz stationrooms are smallgreat locationhackescher markttv toweralexander platzhigh floorrecommend staying herefree wifiunter den lindenair conditioningpublic transportationlight sleepernice barbreakfast buffetnice roomcomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 807 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a short meeting in Berlin and therefore arrived quite late in the evening/left early in the morning. However, I can say the hotel is perfectly located directly at Alexanderplatz. Therefore it's a great starting point when discovering the city but also when in town for business.
The staff at the hotel was friendly, the rooms stylish and equipped with all you need during your stay. The bed was comfortable and the rooms well isolated. Good place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amsterdam_Chris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend with some friends. Clean, friendly and feels like a much more upmarket hotel than what you actually pay for. Decent location. Highly recommended for a short break on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evilnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

we stayed 4 nights at the motel one Berlin alexanderplatz while visiting friends in Berlin and for new year's eve celebrations. We choose the Motel One Berlin Alexanderplatz mainly because of location and because of limited availability among other hotels in the city. This was my first experience with the Motel Once chain/brand.

Firstly: yes it's rather inexpensive: yet I would not call it good value. Mainly because hotel rates in Berlin are rather cheap in any hotel compared to other European cities and also because you get more for the same price with chains like Ibis or the AllSeasons properties.

The hotel does position itself as trendy, design, fancy, whatever you wanna call it: and indeed there was an effort of decoration and loon'n'feel that went into the property and these things are always a matter of taste: yet it's nothing to write home about.

The hotel is nicely located at just about 100m from Alexanderplatz station where you can catch multiple subway lines and commuter trains. It is also in decent walking distance to Berlin's most important museums and some of the main tourist destinations. The hotel faces on one side the very busy railway tracks, I can imagine those rooms are rather noisy. We were lucky enough to get a room that didn't face the tracks.

The hotel features a rather big lounge area in the lobby with loads of seating available. There is free wifi in the lounge and breakfast is served here and you can get drinks and snacks all day from the bar.

Rooms are VERY small! They are indeed smaller than anything you get at a similar price at competing budget chains. There is not even a cupboard to put your clothes away. With two people and some luggage: the room is literally crowded. Yes it's a budget hotel so I don't expect a lounge area or balcony or whatever... yet still at least an armoire and a place where to put my luggage.

Rooms have AC which is good, not standard in Berlin. Generally both the rooms and bathrooms and the public areas of the hotel are very clean. The room did smell a little strangely however, which housekeeping did notice, so whenever they cleaned the room; they would have opened the window causing the room to be freezing every time we came back. Annoying...

Also above average for this type of price range is the bathroom; its very small: so watch out when taking a shower (I did not manage a single time to take a shower without causing the entire bathroom to get wet...) yet its much better than what you get with similar hotels that will give you a plastic, pre-fabricated bathroom.

Regarding sleep quality: its not great. The pillows are rather hard and unhandy: there is no extra pillow. Mattress is okay.

We did not take breakfast.

All in all: I can recommend this hotel for it's location only. Regarding actual price-value; you can get better options.

+location
+/- clean (yet room did smell funny)
+/- bathrooms (small though)
-room size (not even a cupboard)
-sleep quality
-no free wifi in room (ridiculous for a hotel that's supposed to be for GenY travelers)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the railway tracks. Should be a room with the number ending with 01 to 10.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We chose this hotel due to the closeness of the Alexanderplatz and the railway station. The motel was very new and tastefully decorated. Loved the walk in wardrobe - could fill it with 2 jackets. Breakfast was adequate, with a great variety of meats and cheeses. The staff were pleasant. We wanted to go to the Christmas Markets, they sent us to one, it was not real good, we ended up finding 2 really great Christmas Markets our selves.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We chose this hotel for its easy access, as we arrived by train from Prague and took the tram to Alexanderplatz. You can nearly see the sign when you exit the station. Unlike quirky older hotels, this one is part of a well-planned system. As other reviewers mention, the room is small with no frills - but it is clean and quiet, even though we faced the train tracks.

The breakfast experience is not stellar; our days there were busy, with lineups for food and for tables. We had to wait, then clear a dirty table to sit at. The eating area is also the lobby, with only stools instead of chairs, and people waiting with luggage to check out beside us.

Location is great for walking and shopping, as well as accessing transit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiagoestoItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews